The English Landscape at It’s Finest

As you already know, not long ago we spent some time in the Lake District. We’ve been going there for three years now – ever since Brianna could do some ‘proper’ climbing/rambling – and I don’t see this tradition coming to an end any time soon.

But what is this irresistible force that drags us back up there every summer? Why is it that we love it so much? Is it the hills, valleys and lakes, the long walks or the green grass? Is it the challenge of conquering a peak in pouring rain and blasting wind? Is it the fresh air? I reckon it’s all of the above, and more.

It is this “more” that I’ve been trying to put my finger on ever since we returned from our holiday. And, whilst pondering about it, I remembered two quotes from one of my favourite books, The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro. I looked them up in the book – for accuracy – and typed them into this post. These words and the some of the pictures we took in the Lakes are – at least for now – the best explanation of what makes this beautiful region so appealing, not only to us, but to thousands of tourists from all over the world.

Enjoy.

The English landscape at its finest – such as I saw this morning – possesses a quality that the landscapes of other nations, however more superficially dramatic, inevitably fail to possess. It is, I believe, a quality that will mark out the English landscape to any objective observer as the most deeply satisfying in the world, and this quality is probably best summed up by the term ‘greatness’.”

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

I would say that it is the very lack of obvious drama or spectacle that sets the beauty of our land apart. What is pertinent is the calmness of that beauty, its sense of restraint. It is as though the land knows of its own beauty, of its own greatness, and feels no need to shout it.”

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

*** Note: I was going to edit some of the photos and brighten them up a bit…But then I changed my mind … Yes, it rained a lot and it was cloudy for most of the time. It was also rather blowy. There’s nothing wrong with that… In fact, it’s great! Rain, cloud and wind are, after all, ‘an English thing’. 🙂

16 Comments

Filed under Photo diary

16 responses to “The English Landscape at It’s Finest

  1. Wonderful scenery and you are right, it doesn’t need brightening up.
    Glad you are back to blogging.

  2. Love the quotes — how perfect they fit for this backdrop. I am glad you didn’t touch up the pictures; they are lovely just the way they are. The last picture of Brianna is adorable, too. She is certainly growing up, isn’t she? Sooooo good to have you back.

    • Thanks, Robin… I’m glad you liked the photos and the quotes, they do go well together, don’t they? Brianna is, indeed, growing up fast, both physically and mentally. She’s getting stronger, too, which means we can go up more mountains, in search of more adventures. Poor George, I hope his legs don’t wear out 🙂

  3. I like those rock walls. Just thinking about the history that went into making them, one by one placed by hand. Englands soil is so full of wonderfull stories, magic and ancient beauty. Wonderfull photots

    • Hi, Sara…I missed you… I love the new name (although I liked the old one, too) and will visit your new blog soon…I can’t wait to catch up 🙂
      I love the stone walls, too… As you say, they’re full of history and magic, just like the scenery around them…Thank you for your lovely comment. x

  4. Wonderful shots Didi. So glad to see you and your family in fine form. By the way the weather looks perfect to me, as we are dealing with temps at 106 F.

    • Thank you, Lionel. You know it means a lot coming from you 🙂 I had to convert the F temperature into Celsius, and wow, that’s hot! I feel for you, too hot is not good either… I hope your weather turns cooler and our weather turns sunnier soon…

  5. Wow!! beautiful scenery!!

    We didn’t know you have come back Aunty Didi 🙂

  6. The Lake District is very beautiful.

  7. Chancy and Mumsy

    These pictures are great and what beauty they show. No wonder you like going there. Hugs

  8. Lovely pictures. And I loved the quote from one of my favorite books.

    It’s amazing how certain landscapes just call out to us. Some people can’t imagine anything more beautiful than the desert. I can’t imagine a landscape without green.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.