Glad To Be Back To Normal

OK, so the winter holiday is (finally) over! I’ve really enjoyed this Christmas, spending time with my loved ones, indulging in tasty treats, catching up with family and friends and doing nothing (i.e. not working) for a few days.

However, now that the celebrations are over, I am quite happy to be back to normal. I don’t know about you, but personally, there’s only so much chocolate, Christmas pudding, mince pies, meat and cheese that I can eat. There’s also a limit to how much lying around I can put up with before I start thinking that I should be doing something more valuable with my time.

It looks like I’m not the only one who feels this way. This morning, Brianna was buzzing with excitement about returning to school and meeting up with her friends again. My husband woke up early looking forward to sitting at his desk for a proper, uninterrupted work session. As for George, heΒ has decided to cut down his meat intake until he’s burnt off the Christmas excess and seems to enjoy being able to snooze in his dad’s armchair again, for the first time in weeks.

With the Christmas tree, lightsΒ and decorations already packed away, the only thing left in our living room to remind us of the holiday gone is George’s gift from Santa: a string of rubber sausages which he brings onto the sofa a few times a day for a little bit of whippet love.

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

Finally, it’s nice to be able to return to the blog, too! And it’s great to reconnect with all our blogging friends all over the world. Wherever you are, we wish you all the best for 2012. Happy New Year!

24 Comments

Filed under General

24 responses to “Glad To Be Back To Normal

  1. So glad you had a relaxing holiday, Didi, and Happy New Year to you, too. I completely understand and agree — it’s nice to have a good break, but also feels good to get back into some routines as well. We traveled over the holiday and it always feels so good to be back home!

  2. Happy New Year, Didi! George looks cute with his little treats there.

  3. George, that’s an awesome present! Happy 2012 to you, too!

    Bunny

  4. Happy New Year to you all! It is Christmas Day tomorrow here in the Republic of Georgia – so we get to celebrate again! πŸ™‚

  5. When we’re home all day, I get the feeling Honey will be relieved when we go back to work. She feels obligated to get up and investigate every time we move around the house.

    It’s hard work for a dog used to sleeping uninterrupted most of the day. πŸ™‚

    George will probably also be glad to go back to getting 6 hours of sleep at a time during the day.

    • πŸ˜€ Yes, George is back to his 6 hours sleep at a time now…Ok, maybe not 6, more like 3…Honey’s definitely the champion sleeper out of them two, it must be all that investigative work she does. x

  6. that’s a cute pic of George. it’s been ages since i’ve seen him.

    personally, i can never get enough cake and pie. Happy new year to you and the family too x

  7. Chancy, Mumsy and Crew

    Love the picture. We hope you all have a wonderful and prospers year in 2012. Hugs and nose kisses

  8. Life isn’t back to normal here yet and won’t be for a while, but that’s OK. The weather thinks we’re still in Winter and won’t stop raining for more than a few days. But it’s good to see that things are normal again for you;) Rubber sausages sound very interesting, George gets such great presents!

  9. Our life is starting to be normal. Although Sia needs to regain her Whippet figure from all the eating and lazing about she has been doing.

  10. Glad to hear George seems to like his present – and that you’re back !!!

  11. Kas

    Happy New Year to you and yours!! Glad to hear that you had a nice Christmas. However, I’m not sure that I agree with you .on getting back to normal .. I’m not quite ready to go back to school πŸ™‚

  12. Me again! I forgot to tell you in December a short piece of fiction I wrote came out in December in the anthology titled WTF?! So, I’m officially a professional now.

    My piece involves a fictional Civil War in the year 2039 between America’s right-wing loonies and left wing loonies.

    I wanted to thank you and the others again for offering me encouragement. It means a lot coming from people who aren’t relatives or close friends.

    • Congratulations, Ed. You have always been a professional, that’s just a confirmation πŸ˜‰ But I’m sure it feels good and it gave you a boost of confidence (if you needed it). Your piece sounds interesting and, thinking back to your sagas, the kind of thing I’d expect you to write (and excel in). Now that you’ve cracked the ice, there’s nothing left to stop you from taking this as far as you want. Gosh, with your writing career and your blog taking off at this speed, you could be a celebrity in no time (although I’m sure it’s not about that at all for you). Let’s just say I won’t fall off my chair in shock if I turn on the TV and find you giving an interview about your latest work. As for giving you encouragement, that’s easy. You know what it’s like: once a fan, always a fan πŸ™‚

  13. We’re trying to get back to normal here too . . . slowly but surely. Happy New Year!!

  14. I can so relate to your “getting back to normal” feeling. Isn’t it funny? How we all look forward to these big events, but are so glad to get back to the regular hum drum? I guess it’s a double blessing then.

    Wishing you and your family all the best for 2012 too. πŸ™‚

  15. Welcome back and happy new year πŸ™‚
    But I guess you’re missing again now πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

