Whippet Facts: Introduction

I have been toying with the idea of writing a series of interesting and, hopefully, fun facts about Whippets since I started the blog, and today I finally decided to run with it, even though I haven’t got absolutely everything figured out. Being a control freak, it took me a while to realise that, if I wait until I know exactly what I’m going to write for a whole year and I’m happy with every word, I wouldn’t get around to actually publishing anything until my 80th birthday.

So no more waiting, I think it’s time to start sharing my immense love and limited knowledge of this wonderful breed with everyone who is interested and patient enough to read my posts. And if they help even one person decide that a sweet, gentle, elegant and loving whippet is the right dog for them, then I’ll be happy.

The first Whippet Facts post is scheduled for next Monday. I know that a whole week might seem like a long time to wait, but it isn’t really. Youย flick your fingers and it’s gone. But, for those of you who can’t wait – one can be wishful! – I leave you with a photo of George, just to prove that whippets are ratherย beautiful creatures:

http://mylittledog,wordpress,com/

26 Comments

Filed under Whippet facts

26 responses to “Whippet Facts: Introduction

  1. George is indeed beautiful — he has this look as if he knows he is supposed to be showing off his best. I look forward to learning more about whippets!

  2. We’re excited to learn more about Whippets!

  3. I’m looking forward to your post too:) I love reading why people chose and love the breed they have. And George is enough to make anybody interested in learning more about Whippets!

  4. I look forward to reading more. I don’t get to meet many sight hounds. It has been a busy summer and it won’t slow down much as now hunt season will be upon us. But at least the show pressure is off. Thanks for being a faithful follower. I hope I can get back into the blog scene more soon.
    Anna

  5. Hi Didi,

    Glad I only have to wait a week, and not until you turn 80 for my fun facts! ๐Ÿ™‚ I see a bowl of fruit in the background of George’s photo — must be a decoration, right? Although I know how sweet George is, I can’t imagine him leaving a bowl of real fruit, placed at doggie-height, alone!

    But then I know you, too, and I know what a smart and healthy eater you are. So, hmmm… Is it fake? Or do you simply have a super-well trained pup?

    • Hi, Melissa. Sorry to keep you waiting for so long, I’ve been too busy for my own good.
      Nooo, that fruit is real!! As you say, we’re obsessed with healthy eating, so that fruit bowl is a permanent presence in our house, in that particular place that you can see in the photo. George used to steal the odd apple or pear when he was little, but he’s calmed down now. He knows he gets his own share of fruit (and everything else), so maybe he’s decided he doesn’t need to steal anymore ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. lifewith4cats

    I also am looking forward to the fun facts. And now, thanks to @happy kids I too am wondering about the fruit? I think its placed there as an artistic still life. Elegant dog/elegant fruit. No?

    • Hi, Sara…No artistic still life, I’m afraid, although I realised looking back at the photo that it looks like George is carrying the fruit bowl on his back! But it’s all real, trust me ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Kas

    Oooo I look forward to this!! We’ve always admired the strength, agility, and pure beauty of the whippet breed ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I’m eagerly waiting to start my Whippet education!

  9. Oooh, I’m so late reading blog posts that I only have to wait one more day to learn about George and his noble ancestry. Looking forward to it.

  10. George is indeed beautiful ๐Ÿ™‚
    Looking forward to know more about Whimpets

  11. Thanks to George, I can now proudly and confidently identify the Whippets we meet in-and-around Singapore! As much as I am a fan of Poodles, being a dog owner has also made me very interested in learning about other breeds. Looking forward to our first course in Whippets 101 ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Please let me know how many whippets you find in Singapore. I can’t imagine them being too popular over there, but you never know! I completely agree with what you said about being interested in learning about other breeds. I feel the same. I am forever sold to the whippets, but that doesn’t stop me admire, like and be interested in other breeds (you know I am in love with your Little Miss :)).

  12. George is such a stunning dog Didi. Who couldn’t love a whippet?

  13. They are beautiful indeed!! I’m sold on them, and I think George is especially handsome! I’m looking forward to your posts, and I bet I learn a thing or two. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

