George’s Sand Holiday – Part 2

It’s time for the second (and last) instalment of our seaside holiday tales. So, what else did we do when we weren’t digging? Not much…

George took us for a sunrise walk on the beach at 6 am every morning. So much for having a lie in whilst on holiday…

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com.

Come on, dad, hurry up!

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

Isn't it beautiful?

Brianna took us to the fair at 8 pm every evening, and made us go on everything. Her dad did not escape the bumper cars, whilst I had to go up and down on a giant slide a million times, tucked in a piece of old rug which Brianna poetically called ‘Aladdin’s carpet’. So much for having a rest on holiday…

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

Down the monster slide she goes, tucked inside her Aladdin carpet...

She also spent a few pounds in the amusements, winning herself a toy ice-cream van – which apparently she’d always wanted and really needed! – at the 2 p machines…

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

Ice-cream, anyone?

…. whilst I busied myself around the trinket, art and gift shops, looking for treasures and bargains.Β As a result,Β three geckos are now crawling up our living-room wall. They took forever to put up, but aren’t they cute?

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

Our three little cuties...

We also had a lot of ice-cream and a couple of barbecues, plus a few hours reading whilst sitting around the tent. Yes, when we eventually reached the limit of exhaustion, we forced the kids to sit quietly for a bit…

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

Brianna, how long do you think we've got to lie here for?

We didn’t do much else but, before I end the post, I’d like to thank the weather gods for being so generous and spoiling us with good, dry weather so that we could do everything we wanted.

With all the camping gear packed away, I can’t help dreaming of next summer…

22 Comments

Filed under Photo diary, Uncategorized

22 responses to “George’s Sand Holiday – Part 2

  1. It looks like such a fun, warm, active, and happy time spent together as a family. Love the picture of Brianna and George trying to look content for you! How did you keep George from hauling in sand with him? What special memories you’ll cherish forever.

    • You’re right about the memories…At the end of the day, that’s what we’re left with. if you ask me, I sometimes can’t remember the projects I’ve worked on the month before, but I’ll have no problem remembering every moment of our holidays (even those from years ago) πŸ™‚
      We’re lucky George is a non-stick, self-cleaning dog who doesn’t bring anything in: mud, sand, water, snow…they all fall off him within minutes. The only ones who hauled in sand were us, in our trainers πŸ˜‰

  2. Didi! What a wonderful two-part post. I shared the pictures with my children, and now they’ve decided they, too, have always wanted and desperately need a toy ice cream truck. πŸ™‚ I love your posts, as they are just brimming with energy and good spirit and you can tell that you all, as a family, truly enjoy life, and just being together. What an inspiration you are.

    • Welcome back, Melissa! I really, really missed you and I hope you and the kids had a fabulous holiday. Now that I know you’re back, I can’t wait for your posts πŸ™‚
      I’m so glad you liked the post and the photos, and I’m sure you’ve got hundreds of pictures just like these as a result of your own family summer adventures.
      That ice-cream van has proved incredibly popular with all the kids in our extended family, as well as Brianna’s friends. It’s weird how kids take to certain things and not others πŸ™‚

  3. lifewith4cats

    kids have endless energy don’t they? Last time I went camping I took some young ones also. I never got to simply sit and sit some more. Not when there were rocks and sand to explore. Afterwards I needed a vacation from my vacation.

  4. It is nice to hear that the weather cooperated for your trip. Nothing is worse than having rain while camping. The range of activities you and the family participated in seemed just perfect for a seaside trip. I’m curious if George in the second photo is watching the sunrise, or is he still trying to figure out what’s up with all that water. πŸ™‚

    • I know what you mean, we did have to put up with torrential rain once and even take down the tent whilst it was raining heavily another time, and it wasn’t pleasant. But it’s a risk worth taking. I don’t know what George was thinking of, but I’m guessing he was looking forward to running up and down the beach at 200 mph.:)

  5. I’m glad the weather was good for you! George and Brianna are born stars!

    And by the way, I think we had a sighting of one of George’s American cousins recently:
    (I tried to just post the picture but it wouldn’t let me so here is the link: http://glitternight.com/2011/09/17/college-football-scoreboards-for-september-17th/

    • Aww, what a sweet pup…He doesn’t look too sure about wearing full football kit though, does he? Pretty cool picture nevertheless. Thanks for the link, Ed, I would have missed that one πŸ˜‰

  6. Your first 2 photos are stunning! What a beautiful sunrise. I doubt I would be up and about at 6am on holiday to see it. The big slide looks like lots of fun and I love your geckos:) I’d say your holiday was a great success for everyone!

    • Thanks, Sue. We weren’t planning to get up at 6 am, but then George had other ideas. The things we do for our pups…
      The slide was a lot of fun indeed, once you get over the initial dizziness…Glad you like my baby geckos, we’re still trying to agree on their names πŸ™‚

  7. I love that photo of George at the top of the dune. It looks like everyone had a wonderful, if not restful, holiday.

  8. Kas

    Looks like you had a fabulous time! πŸ™‚

  9. oow that really is beautiful!! Good think you got that on camera.
    Love that picture of Brianna and George laying down together..they looked so sweet.
    And the geckos are really cute…reminds me of my late Toga.

    • Thanks, Novroz, glad you liked them. I always have the camera in my pocket πŸ™‚ Believe it or not, I actually thought of you and your girls when I first saw the geckos. I knew you’d like them πŸ™‚

  10. What a fantastic vacation! I think the girls would have loved that, too. That last picture gave me a huge grin!

  11. It looks like a great trip to me, and I’m so glad the weather cooperated!! Thanks for sharing your fun! George and Brianna are so sweet together. xo

Leave a Reply

