Our Mystery Holiday

By the time this post goes out, we’ll be on our way to our first camping holiday this summer. I was going to tell you all about the marvellous place we’re going to, but then I got another idea. Remember our Mystery Friend post where you were invited to guess who George was playing with? Well, I thought you might like to play another silly game and try to guess where we’re going. Then, when we get back, I’ll tell you where we’ve been and pick the winner – who, just like last time, will be rewarded with a bit of glory and nothing else.

To get you going with the guessing, I’ll give you a photographic clue…

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

…plus a few more ‘written’ clues, which I was initially going to post separately, one at a time. However, since the preparations are keeping us busier than I thought, here they are, all in one go:

Clue # 1: There’s a lot of water over there, but not all in one place.

Clue # 2: It’s a very scenic region and a UK hotspot, popular with both British and foreign tourists (especially from Asia and the USA).

Clue # 3Mint cake!!!

So, this is it. We’re off as the adventure awaits. You won’t be hearing from us this week as computers are useless where we’re going. But don’t be shy, make your guess and I’ll reveal our mystery destination next week. In the meantime, have a great week ahead!

17 Comments

Filed under General

17 responses to “Our Mystery Holiday

  1. Wherever it is, it looks beautiful! Have a great trip!

  2. I googled your third clue in order to figure this out, so I guess you could say I cheated! My guess is IOM (leaving it somewhat ambiguous so I don’t completely ruin it for others) — and that assumes that I have it right, which I might not! Your games are fun, Didi, and I’ll be anxious to hear what antics George and his family have gotten into. Perhaps a picture of George with some mint cake???? By the way, George looks so tall in this picture! What is his height?

    • Hi, Robin. I’ve just published a (first) post about our trip, you’ll find the answer there 🙂
      George is 20″ at the shoulder, which is bang on the standard height limit set by the Kennel Club. There are a lot of smaller, as well as taller whippets than him, so I guess he’s of average height. He tends to look much taller in photos than he is in reality, probably because he’s very leggy 😉

  3. Have a wonderful holiday:) Is George going too? Lucky boy! I’m guessing ELD, being ambiguous too. Which might not be right either! Looking forward to reading all about your camping trip when you get back.

  4. I’m going for the Lake District – I am a bit rusty on my geography of UK having been away from my 1st home for so many many years though!
    I certainly hope George is going too….George if you are being left behind fly down to Oz (the land downunder) and come on our holiday!
    We leave in just a few weeks time around the the 18th of August, heading south, then east, then south again…..generally speaking. We intend to be on the road for about 6-7 months!

    love from Clancy and Connor and Annie the driver!

    • Rusty or not, you’re right! George thanks you for the invitation, but he’s never left behind so he won’t be able to honour it! 6-7 months on the road…Gosh…That sounds so exciting. I’ll come and catch up with your posts over the next few days….Still trying to ‘recover’ after the holiday 😉

  5. Since I know nothing about UK area…I won’t be guessing now.

    It looks like a nice place and hope you enjoy your camping 🙂

  6. Hope you had a great trip. Can’t wait to see your pix. I’m with everyone else on the mystery location.

  7. I’m truly clueless, but after a quick internet search, I’m guessing you’re in the South Lakeland District. Maybe Cumbria? Kendal? At any rate, I hope you all have a great trip. Enjoy!

  8. I’m going to guess Kendal, but I’m really not sure!

    George, I’ve been having a tough time getting your blog updates, so I’m sorry for missing some things! I’ll try to keep better track of you!

    Bunny

    • You’re good, it was in the Kendal-ish area 🙂 Don’t worry about keeping track, we’ve been bad bloggers lately so we’ve got a lot of catching up to do ourselves…

  9. I’ll guess Portmeirion Resort since I’m a huge fan of the original Prisoner series.

    • No, sorry to disappoint you 😦 Although North Wales is definitely on the list for the future…Post is out, so you can see where we went. I’m looking forward to catch up with your posts over the next few days. I want to be ready for Friday 😉

Leave a Reply

