Knuckle Bone Saves The Weekend

As you already know from a previous post, George got a knuckle bone for Children’s Day. Nothing special about that, it’s just a bone. However, this little present saved our weekend. I’ll explain.

In contrast with last weekend’s bad weather, this weekend – Sunday in particular – we had plenty of sunshine and quite a few degrees on the Celsius scale. Too many, according to George. There isn’t much one can do on days like this, except gather up for a garden party with friends and family.

The kids got to splash and play in the paddling pool, whilst the adults got to chill out under an umbrella, with a glass of cold lemonade (or beer!) and, later on, show off their cooking skills in a barbecue contest.

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

Bot how about George? Normally, George gets bored on days like this. He doesn’t want to go out for his afternoon walk, doesn’t want to play, doesn’t want a cuddle and doesn’t want his food. All his does when he’s too hot is move between full-sun and shady spots every 5 minutes.

From here…

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

…to here:

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

However, this weekend was a little different. He still didn’t want to do anything and was his usual awkward self, but at least he had the knuckle bone to work on (which I had the brain wave to freeze it when George abandoned it, back in June). Luckily, this is one giant bone.

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

In spite of George’s relentless work, I’d say it will last him for a while. Until the end of the summer, probably. Or longer. So bring on the hot weather and garden barbecues. This time we’re all ready.

26 Comments

Filed under Photo diary

26 responses to “Knuckle Bone Saves The Weekend

  1. What a great idea to freeze the bone! Lucky George to have such a treat. I always cook the marrow bones we give Grace (taking out the marrow after it’s cooked); I think I remember seeing on your blog from a previous post or comment that you give it to George raw. I will have to try that! Grace also gets very lazy in the heat. The pictures of George are adorable. Does he ever show in any interest in the pool?

    • Yes, I buy all of his bones in bulk, from the butchers, so I always end up freezing most of them. Then I take them out as I need them. This one I hadn’t put in the freezer straight away, because George wanted it straight away. But then he abandoned it so I thought I might as well save it for later. I’m glad I did!
      George gets all his bones raw, I never give him cooked bones because, as far as I know, they’re more likely to splinter. However, everybody is free to stick to whatever works for them and their dogs. If Grace is happy with the cooked marrow bones and hasn’t had any problems with them, then it’s OK. Although I’d be interested to know what she thinks of raw bones.
      No, George is not interested in the paddling pool. In fact, on Sunday he made sure to lie as far from it as possible πŸ™‚

  2. Shew, I know how George feels! It has been so hot down here that laying in the shade seems like the best answer most of the time.

  3. After cooking dinner over a hot stove, I wish I had a knuckle bone or two in the freezer for me to eat!

    I don’t know how much jaw power George has but I have had Honey take pieces off a knuckle bone–big enough to give her problems swallowing. It’s a great treat when we’re around but I also put it away when we’re not supervising.

    • Cooking in a hot kitchen on a hot day is not my idea of fun, either. For this reason, summer is mostly salad time. I don’t know if I’d fancy a knuckle bone myself, but maybe an ice-cream? πŸ˜›
      We never leave George unsupervised with a bone either. He’s got quite a powerful jaw, so I know what you mean about biting biggish chunks off the bone. I’m not too worried about him choking, as he always chews and crushes everything properly before swallowing, but I still supervise him, because you never know. Better careful than sorry, right?

  4. That’s a great idea to put the bone in the freezer when not in ‘use’! Beryl isn’t into bones. Frankie is but Beryl doesn’t think he should have them!! So they don’t get bones to prevent any disagreements, although I think Frankie would just walk away if he thought his big sister was interested. She’s got him well trained!

    Do you want to hear how it’s been raining on and off all day here, is pretty cold and I think it’s now or never time to take the kids for a walk. Hopefully the weather has cleared for an hour. I can’t wait for summer!

    • πŸ˜€ I love it how Beryl runs the show and poor Frankie knows his place. Girls always seem to be the more dominant ones. Just like in real life…;)

      I feel for you with regard to the weather, but hang in there. In a couple of months we’ll be swapping our sunshine for your rain and it’ll be your turn to sunbathe πŸ™‚

  5. The first picture of George on a hot day reminds me of Oscarβ€”he likes to stretch out on the cool tile until the sun sets. πŸ˜€

  6. With a mighty fine-looking marrow bone like that, I’m sure George had his day of fun as well. I love summertime barbecues—there’s something so relaxing and enjoyable about feasting in the comfort of your own backyard. I hope the barbecue contest panned out well. Was there a winning dish?

  7. lifewith4cats

    Now if that was a meaty T-bone Ide be all over it. πŸ™‚

  8. Hmmm…lazy George…get up!! πŸ˜‰

    Hehehe there’s a turtle in the pool πŸ™‚

  9. Freezing the bone like that was a very good idea!

  10. greetings from Asia fro ma Whippet owner

  11. It has been really hot here too! We’re finally catching a break from the heatwave though. It feels more like October than July today, but the heat is supposed to return next week, so we’ll enjoy it while it lasts. I’m glad George has something to occupy his hot summer days. Have fun!

    • Hi, Kristin. Yeah, the weather broke up after that hot weekend, and we’ve had autumn weather (and a lot of rain) for the past few days. Hopefully, the nice (not too hot) weather will return. You guys have fun, too. πŸ˜‰

  12. Kas

    We know how you feel, with the unbearable heat! A little treat always does our guys some good too πŸ™‚

  13. Hooray for knuckle bones. The freezing part never occurred to me. Nice touch. Today we have a heat index of 115. The same for tomorrow. And the next day. I’m off to get some bones now. Thanks Didi.

    • Wow, that’s a bit too hot, isn’t it? I like heat, but only for a day or two…Beyond that, it’s a bit much and I find myself praying for some rain to cool us down. Good luck with the bones, and stay cool. x

Leave a Reply

