George the Versatile Blogger

I’ve never though people would think to associate the term ‘versatile’ with our blog, so you can imagine my surprise to find that we’ve been awarded the Versatile Blogger Award by one of our favourite bloggers, Sue at Greyhounds CAN Sit. Thank you so much, Sue, we’re honoured and happy that you like us enough to include us on your list.

Since yesterday, when we found out about it, George has been walking around the house all proud and full of himself. He says that, out of the two of us, he’s the one who deserves the award the most, since it is his blog and it’s him who has to look cool in all the photos, and put up with the (sometimes embarrassing) stories I’ve been telling about him. OK, there you go, George… It’s all yours.

This award comes with a few rules, which include sharing 7 things – hopefully interesting – about yourself that your readers might not know, and passing it on to 15 other bloggers. Since George is so keen to take the credit, I’ve decided to let him do the honours of compiling a list of interesting facts about himself.

Brace yourselves, ladies and gentlemen, I give you…George, the Versatile Blogger!

Hiya, everybody, I’m so glad that I’ve got the chance to talk to you again. Good thing this award came along, otherwise it would have been impossible to get Mum away from the computer so that I can do some typing myself.

First of all, I’d like to thank Beryl for convincing her mum, Sue, to include me on the award list. I love you, babe!

Mum said I’ve got to tell you 7 interesting things about myself, and begged me to say something about her, too. Because I’m a nice guy (and she threatened that there won’t be any more liver treats in her pockets), I’m going to dedicate fact no. 1 to her.

Fact no. 1 – Mum loves yellow more that any other colour. She says it makes her happy…So I chose the yellow award, just for her.

Fact no. 2 – I was born completely blue, but my fur (apart from my ears and face) changed to fawn as I was growing up. Mum sometimes jokes (?) that she’s going to send me back because I’ve tricked her and she wouldn’t have picked me if she’d known … I think that’s a bit unfair, a dog can’t control the colour of his fur, can he? Besides, Mum seems to forget that I picked them

Fact no. 3 – I really like having a big (human) sister. She plays with me, cuddles me, and gives me titbits from her plate. She’s especially generous with chicken, I don’t know why, but I’m not complaining. None of my litter brothers and sisters have gone to families with children, and I feel sorry for them. I consider myself lucky, my life is a lot more exciting than theirs.

Fact no. 4 – I love playing rough games with Dad. It’s all I ever think about (except for liver cake…and bones…and Brianna’s toys…and that pesky pigeon in the front garden that Mum’s always moaning about). I think Dad is obsessed with playing, too, as he can’t settle down at night until we’ve had our game of I’ll show you who’s the man dog around here. I usually let Dad win, because I quite like him and I don’t want him to sulk.

Fact no. 5 – I like sniffing and I like rolling in smelly things (it’s like putting on deodorant, really). My all-time favourite is fox poop, especially when it’s nice and fresh. Since we live close to a nature reserve, there are a lot of foxes around here and a lot of fox poop. Something I used to celebrate … But not anymore. Mum and Dad have ruined it for me. They’ve never been too keen on fox poop for some reason, and have always been quick to give me a bath every time I rolled in it. So I’ve decided not to bother with fox poop anymore, it’s not worth the hassle that comes with it.

Fact no. 6 – I hate baths. I really, really do. I hate them so much, that I’ve even given up rolling in fox poop just to avoid having to go through the ordeal of being washed with shampoo that ‘smells lovely’. Yuck! See Fact no. 5 above.

Fact no. 7 – I don’t really like other dogs, and I especially don’t like it when they come over to me uninvited. I never go to them, so why can’t they leave me alone? I play with my dog mates that I’ve grown up with and with whom I’ve got a good relationship built on mutual respect. I think that’s enough. I don’t need to meet or make friends with the entire dog population, do I? After all, I am half-human, so I can’t hang out with dogs all the time, it’s bad for my image. Especially since some of them are really rough, if you know what I mean.

There are many other interesting things that I’d like to tell you about me. But Mum says 7 is enough, and that I should save the rest in case someone else gives us an award. I suppose I’d better listen to her…So I’ll hand over to Mum again. I hope I did well and didn’t bore you too much. Woof!

Hmm…Thank you, George.

It’s time to move on to the most exciting part, which is passing the award on to other bloggers whom we love. George and I are in complete agreement on who our blogging friends are, so compiling the list below wasn’t difficult. Every single blog(ger) on the list is brilliant, special and unique in their own way, and I’ve learnt a lot from each of them.

So here are our nominees, in no particular order:

According to Gus

Balladeer’s Blog

Graceful Leadership

Your Daily Bailey

Rescued Insanity

Live.Bark.Love

Oscah Baby

Midaeval Maiden

play101

Happy Bark Days

Tales and Tails

Kame and Kroten

Vizsla Inspiration

whippetsaroundoz

How Sam Sees It

I know some of you have already received this award at some point. I’m sorry guys, but George and I love you too much to leave you out. I hope you don’t mind! However, I did leave out a few of my favourite blogs, simply because I know they, too, have received this award from Sue this weekend. If you visit Sue’s blog – which I hope you do – you’ll see who they are.

Congratulations to you all!

43 Comments

Filed under George speaking

43 responses to “George the Versatile Blogger

  1. Awww thanks for the award! I guess I really should acknowledge it and pass it on eh?
    I enjoyed the George facts, Luna is not a fan of most either, and a lot of dogs don’t seem to pick up on that very quickly at all. But I don’t expect her to be a social butterfly either, she gets on well enough with most. Rolling is ONE habit she has never picked up from everyone else, I thought Wyatt was immune too but he has given in and rolled for the first time a week ago… grrrr. Least my girl has more class πŸ˜‰
    Have a great Monday, and thanks for the link. Better get something interesting up soon heh

    • You’re welcome, you fully deserve it. Lots of information, a nice writing style and great photos of gorgeous Luna make your blog one of my favourites πŸ˜‰
      Good on Luna for being selective with her friends. Such a classy girl (who doesn’t even roll in smelly stuff!!) can’t hang out with any old rugged dog, can she?
      I can’t wait for your post πŸ™‚

  2. Thank you so much for the award! That was really kind of you to think of us. We are very honoured. Shiva is going to get a big head as well with all this flattery and start to think she is allowed to lay on the couch whenever she chooses.

    Oh wait, she already does that. πŸ˜›

    I am very proud of George for learning that rolling in fox poop may not be the best way to go. That is very good news. As a human, I do not find that particular brand of deodorant all that appealing. Normal doggy smell is just fine. πŸ™‚

    • You didn’t think we’d leave you and Shiva out of it? Good to know it’s gone to her head, I didn’t expect anything less of her πŸ˜›
      George is master of the couch, too…Spoilt brat!
      I’m with you on the doggy deodorant issue. Not very appealing to us, but I don’t think George is completely over it yet. So I’m expecting a ‘nasty surprise’ at some point this summer. Sometimes, you can see him thinking about it…

  3. Thank you for the award George πŸ™‚

    We have received the same award but always glad to receive it again and again :hug:

    My mommy loves Blue…she would have picked you too, if she had seen you when you were baby. Do you have your baby-blue picture? We never seen blue dog before.

    Hahaha…don’t start sniffing at Kroten’s poop,okay! that’s her source of food πŸ˜‰

    • You know what that means, don’t you? You’re too popular!!!
      Unfortunately, we haven’t got any pictures of tiny George, when he was really, really blue. He started changing quite early, so we missed it. Anyway, ‘blue’ doesn’t really mean the colour blue as we all know it, it’s actually more of a grey. Why they call it blue in dog world, I’ve got no idea. If you look at the picture in my header (or any other picture of George), you’ll see what’s left of his ‘blueness’ on his ears and face. Just picture that the whole of him (apart from the white) was that colour πŸ™‚

  4. Thanks for the award. Ironic that it came at a time that I have decided to take an undetermined break in blogging (see latest post, but don’t worry I’ll be back!).

    I loved all of the little facts about George πŸ™‚ Thank you for sharing.

    • Oh, I hadn’t read your post when I compiled my list. But you know what, it wouldn’t have made a difference, you’d still be on there.
      Enjoy your break and don’t stay away too long (like, for years :O).

  5. It’s good to see George staying so upbeat even though you’ve ruined his fox poop habit.

    And I was thrilled to see my blog mentioned by you! You are way too good to me! Thanks!

    • Yeah, well, you know George, such a positive boy!!
      You’d better get used to finding yourself on our lists…George regards you as his US agent, and I love your sense of humour and the stuff you write about, so….Enjoy! πŸ˜‰

  6. hihi miss didi and george!!

    it’s very much super nice to meet ya’ll, and thankies for comin’ by to visit me! makin’ new friendz is totally awesome sauce! πŸ™‚
    anywho, gratsers on your shiny versatile bloggin’ awardie! i like that i got to learn cool factoids about you since we are new friendz! i like rollin’ in poopie, too! cat poopie is my fave, but i also really like the smells of deer poopie! teehee. you are also very much a lucky ducky to have a mini two-legger to play with! that’s grrreat! i hope that someday my mama ‘n daddy will get a mini two-legger for me to play with. πŸ˜€

    *woof*
    the booker man

    • Hiya, Booker Man, and thanks for returning the visit. Cat poop! Yuck, that sounds as disgusting as fox poop…Luckily, George doesn’t bother with cat poop (it’s just the cats he’s interested in), and there aren’t any deer around here.
      George says that you should urge your mum and dad to produce you a two-legged sibling…It’s fun, at least most of the time. πŸ™‚

  7. Thank you for including Oscar’s blog on your list of nominees! I’m so thrilled you enjoy our blog just as much as we enjoy yours. πŸ™‚

    Oscar LOVES rolling on smelly things, too, but he steers away from poop, which I’m eternally grateful for. After a bath he usually makes a beeline toward the grass and commences with the rolling… kind of defeats the purpose of a bath. πŸ˜‰

    • πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Oh, no, not the rolling after the bath game! George does that – as soon as he escapes the bathroom, he starts rolling and dragging himself across the carpet at 100 mph. He looks hillarious, I have to say. We’ve always assumed that he’s just trying to dry himself…But maybe he doesn’t like the shampoo smell? I’ll make sure he can’t get to any grass until he’s completely dry, just in case…

  8. You did surprise me, Didi! And a wonderful surprise at that! Thank you so much. When I started my blog, I recalled seeking out bloggers that I enjoyed and yours was one of the first ones that I really connected with. I have always enjoyed your (and George’s) writing style and the stories and pictures you share — and your comments are always so thoughtful. All have been wonderful. You definitely deserve this award.

    Somehow I think that if Grace and George could meet, they would be good friends, too! Grace *still* likes to roll in poop, so she would be a poor role model, though. George, good for you for getting over that, even though I know it’s really natural for you, but we humans think it’s disgusting. I did enjoy learning more about you and your mum. Yellow is a beautiful color.

    • Oh, Robin, you’re making me blush! But it’s cool, because that’s exactly how I feel about you and your blog. Not to mention Gracie…I, too, am convinced that she and George would get along and become good friends. Such a shame about that big pool of water between us!
      I like the *still* you’ve squeezed in there. Sounds like a bit of a threat…Poor Grace, does she know about your plans?

  9. I wish I could get Grace to eliminate her desires to roll in potent-smelling materials! And if I thought a threat would do it …. πŸ™‚

  10. George — what a wonderful post! I truly loved it. And thank you so much for the nomination — I am honored that you like my blog.

    That said, let’s get back to you! What an amazing dog you are. So keyed in to the human perspective and so ready to relate your dog-world to us. And I love your philosophy about making doggie friends.

    Now I need to speak to Mum. I’d toss you a bone to fetch if I could. Run along and play!

    Didi! You have a real talent for speaking as George! It was a joy to read. I could feel his dog-brain working right through your words. I love how you had George describe your husband as prone to “sulk” (I know he wouldn’t really), and how we saw George’s perspective on fox poop (yuck), and the special bond you can tell is there between Brianna and him. You told this not by bragging that Brianna is the best little girl dog-owner out there (which I’m sure she is!), but by showing us how lucky you believe George is to have a little child in his life.

    Beautiful. Great post.

    • I don’t even know how to reply to your comment, Melissa, I’m too overwhelmed. You have no idea how much your opinion matters to me, especially when it comes to writing (but not only), so your amazing comment has just made me very, very happy. πŸ™‚

  11. lifewith4cats

    O de’ tua Fox? Sounds like it would be a pretty bottle. But not too nice of a scent. Your the best George.

    • πŸ˜€ You’re too funny, Sara …But you’re right, it sounds like it would be a pretty, sophisticated bottle with a very dissapointing content…Like many products out there on the market, actually πŸ™‚

  12. Kas

    Thanks so much for nominating us!! Fox poop? Silly George. Our silly pups LOVE horse poop, whether it’s eating it or rolling around in it … Sigh.

    • Horse poop? Oh, dear, that doesn’t sound any more delightful than fox poop…Although I guess it makes for a quite good vegetarian dish πŸ˜›
      I think the only reason why George doesn’t roll in horse poop is because there isn’t any around here…Luckily!
      I’m glad you’re not ‘upset’ with the nomination, I know you’re pretty popular at the moment πŸ˜‰

  13. George is just damn fascinating.
    πŸ™‚
    And definately versatile !!

  14. Congratulations to you both on the versatile blogger award. Yes, George, I mean both of you. You don’t think you could have won this all on your own, do you?

    I do have to express some chagrin that you mentioned how much fun rolling in fox poop is. Honey is very intrigued. Her favorite rolling material is dead fish. Believe me, fox poop does smell like deodorant in comparison.

    • Thank you, Pamela, both for your congratulations and for explaining to George that he should share the glory.
      Rolling in dead fish? Gosh, I’ve never hear that before. Honey, darling, you’re definitely one of a kind. Where does she find this fish? Ocean shore? It’s hard for me to imagine something worse than fox poop, but I’ll take your word for it, and am therefore very happy that George doesn’t have the opportunity to even consider rolling into anything like that.

  15. Way to go George!! I really enjoyed learning more about you too! It’s interesting to me that you started out blue and turned fawn. I wonder if that happens a lot. Zoe started blue and stripey, and stayed blue and stripey, but she could be purple and polka dotted and I would love her just the same. πŸ™‚ Happy blogging!!

    • Really glad you enjoyed the post, Kristin. From what I’ve learnt, a lot of solid fawn whippets are born blue, and then turn completely fawn, or end up being blue fawn, which is what George is. He’s retaining some blue on his ears and face, and has got blue streaks ‘underneath’ the fawn, which can only be seen in a certain light. It’s hard to explain, that’s the best I can do.
      Zoe’s gorgeous…We’ve decided that, if we ever get another whippet, it’d be a blue brindle like her, which would complement George’s colour really nicely.
      I completely agree, purple and polka dot (hmm, what an interesting thought…) or anything else, it wouldn’t matter πŸ™‚

      • Interesting. I do see some hints of blue on George. He’s so handsome! You’re right about the blue brindle looking nice with fawn. I’ve noticed that Roxie, Xander and Zoe are nicely coordinated (completely unplanned though.) Zoe looks like a combination of Xander’s fawn and Roxie’s black, and lots of stripes. I’ve never specifically chosen a dog by color, but I did really want a small, blue female this time. We were going to go with a younger male, as a female wasn’t available in the litter from which we were choosing. The breeder kept Zoe from a previous litter, and she was going to show her but decided to offer her to us. I’m REALLY glad she did!!

      • Yes, there are hints of blue in him, and they make him look different depending on the light. Sometimes, on a sunny morning, he looks almost purple. In very strong afternoon sun he looks golden, and in the evening he looks bluish. Weird, really, it’s like having several dogs in one. His maternal grandad was heavily brindle, and sometimes I could swear I can see faint stripes underneath his coat, but that’s most likely me imagining things.
        Yes, your dogs look fantastic together, you couldn’t have planned it better. Zoe is gorgeous, and it is obvious that she’s been bread properly. She’s not got smooth lines and beautiful conformation, but is also an eye catcher, which is why I think she’d do great in the show ring, if you decided to show her. It’s interesting how you got her, she was definitely meant to be yours πŸ™‚

  16. Oh George, I feel so special receiving this award from you! Thank you so much!

    I sympathize! I hate when they wash off my stink, too! Blueberry hates it a lot more than I do, too! She has a rubbing frenzy when she gets out of a bath.

    Bunny

    • You’re very welcome, Bunny, the list wouldn’t be complete without you, girl! And welcome to the ‘unhappy rollers’ club. Maybe we should go on strike about this whole bath thing??

  17. This is such a welcomed surprise! Thank you Didi and George for including us in your list of honourable mentions for the Versatile Blogger Award. I had so much fun reading through the seven facts about George, and I especially liked how it was written from George’s perspective. I’m glad he was given another opportunity at the keyboard πŸ˜‰

    George, Lil’ Miss Maple used to be such a social butterfly but has recently been a bit choosy about who she plays with. You made me laugh with this line, “I don’t need to meet or make friends with the entire dog population, do I?” So true, indeed!

    • You’re welcome, you and Maple are two of our best buddies, plus we like your writing style and Maple’s posing…So leaving you out was no option πŸ˜‰

      I wonder if Maple’s started to be more choosy about her friends because she’s grown up?

  18. Pingback: Gratitude Page, Award and Twitter | Kame & Kroten Blog

  19. Absolutely awesome post, George and Didi! Very versatile:) And a great list of blogs to pass it on to. It’s hard to choose, isn’t it, especially when you’ve passed it on a few times.

    Oh I’m so glad we haven’t got foxes in New Zealand. Frankie likes to roll in horse poop, which honestly doesn’t smell too bad. And he often finds disgusting smelling stuff to roll in as well. Thankfully Beryl is too much of a Princess to indulge in rolling in bad smells … so far.

    • Thanks, Sue, we’re glad you liked it! You’re right, it is hard to choose, because I like all the blogs I follow but, at the same time, I don’t have enough time to read as many blogs as I’d like to and add to my list of blogging friends.
      It sounds like Frankie is a typical lad, like George, and Beryl is a proper lady, too delicate and sensible to indulge in such bad habits. Horse poop vs. fox poop…Hmm….I think I could do without both! πŸ™‚

  20. A big congrats from me George. I hope you realize that you are truly blessed to have such a great and loving family.

  21. Thank you SO much for passing this wonderful award on to us. Please accept our deepest apologies for our tardiness in accepting. We’ve been busy, busy, busy!

    I loved reading more about George. Him and Gus sound a lot alike, personality-wise. I think they could be best of friends…if they both liked other dogs, that is. πŸ˜‰

    • Don’t worry, Lori, I know you guys have (much) better things to do. I just hope you keep those updates coming πŸ˜‰
      I, too, believe that Gus and George are very similar…Maybe they were soulmates in a previous life. I think they could get used to each other and become best friends…Eventually πŸ™‚

  22. Pingback: Seven Oldies In One Go | my little dog

Leave a Reply

