From a Dog’s Perspective

My whippet cup comes from a lovely seaside village on the shore of the North Sea. It’s a small and quirky place that has, somehow, managed to resist progress and remain stuck in the 1970s. It’s a non-commercial, time-forgotten place where nothing has changed for 40 years, with a fabulous sandy beach and lovely dunes. Perfect for family holidays with the dogs. We love this place so much, that we return to it every year, in the tent.

The recent talk about my whippet cup and the fact that we’ve just booked this year’s holiday have brought back the sound of the waves and a lot of sweet memories. I can’t wait to get back there, and neither can George.

Initially, I was going to post a couple of the photos we took last year to show you how much George loves his seaside getaway, the dunes, the sand, the sun and the sound of the sea (but not the wet sea itself, of course). However, inspired by one of the posts my friend Robin (of Graceful Leadership) wrote the other week and the photos she shared, I’ve changed my mind about which picture of George to use.

So here’s my somewhat unusual choice for today. This photo is not about how we see George, but about how George sees us. I hope you like it as much as I do.

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

Have a wonderful weekend, everyone!

37 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

37 responses to “From a Dog’s Perspective

  1. sounds like a great place, cute photo too. I often wonder what Luna is thinking about us. I really want to get the pups to the beach this year, neither have been and I think they would love it. Sadly we will probably have to wait until the season is over.
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

    • I’ve never seen a dog not like the beach, so I’m pretty sure your will love it, too. As beaches are perfect venues for running, I kind of imagine Luna going wild with excitement. So please, when you get there, don’t forget your camera. And don’t worry, the season will pass really quickly…We’re booked for the end of the summer, too.

    • Oh, yes, there’s no secret…Somehow it didn’t cross my mind to mention the name, silly me. The place is called Hemsby, in the county of Norfolk. You’ll get plenty of links if you Google it…Maybe some of you, guys, fly over and come meet us?!?

  2. I do like it, very much. Just look at those lovely, floppy ears!

    I love going to the beach but the best time to go here is in the off-season. In the summer when it is busy there are usually no dogs allowed. In the spring and fall and on colder days it may be too cool for us to swim, but not for Shiva!

    • I know what you mean. That’s why we love going here, it’s a dog friendly place where dogs are allowed on the beach all year around. And because it’s not a very commercial place, it’s also not very popular, which means we can have the beach for ourselves even in the summer. The temperature of the water doesn’t matter to us, since none of us (especially George) likes to go for a swim. A feet paddle is about as adventurous as we get πŸ˜‰

      • so are you going to tell us where it is? Or did I miss that? You by no means have to, don’t know if I would πŸ˜‰ Just curious

  3. Looks like a beautiful place! Great photo!

  4. I β™₯ love β™₯ this image of George people watching. What a great shot!

  5. I’m taking a sailing lesson tomorrow so my first thought was to try to figure out how hard the wind was blowing and what direction it was coming from based on George’s ears. He makes a very handsome wind vane.

    As for George’s perspective–I often wonder what our dogs smell on us. To them, their noses are more important than their eyes so they probably sense us first by smell. Hmmmmm.

    • πŸ˜€ Oh, George’s ears…They’ve got a mind of their own and can do amazing things. “Wind vane”, ha, ha, I love that. I agree about the nose, his is constantly twitching…He’s a big sniffer. Although he’s a sighthound and is, therefore, supposed to hunt by sight, I think he relies more on his nose than his eyesight. But then, he’s George…

      Enjoy your sailing lesson, it sounds really exciting. I love water and would definitely like to try sailing myself, if I ever got the chance. I’m a bit jealous right now …;)

      • Try to make the chance. I always thought sailing was something you either grew up with or never experienced.

        I’m thrilled to be learning something so new and interesting in my 40s.

  6. Love that pic! A “George’s Eye View” almost. Since the subject of what our dogs make of us has come up you may enjoy the book Inside Of A Dog by Alexandra Horowitz. It features terrific info on dogs’ perceptions – and like Pamela said they smell us first, supposedly.

    • Thank you very much for the book recommendation, Ed. I’ll definitely check it out. I imagine it’s available on Amazon, so I’ll see if I can order it in the week.

  7. What a creative thought to take a picture as seen through George’s eyes. I imagine George giving the mystery man in the photo (your husband?) instructions to bring him a pail-load of seawater so that he can commence his sand sculpture πŸ˜‰

    The seaside village sounds like a dreamy place for the perfect family vacation. I can already envision the fun that you all will have. Hope to see more pictures of sun, sand, and sea!

    • Yep, that’s George’s dad who was, indeed, fetching a pail of seawater for sandcastles. Brianna is usually the chief builder, George is more of a superviser and quality controller. And, and demolition squad, too πŸ˜›
      I’ll definitely post photos of our holiday, but it’s going to be a while, since we’re not going until the end of August.

  8. We love going to the beach but we’ve never been able to actually stay there. That would be heaven, or to live there, wow! I wonder if Frankie and Beryl would yearn for the green grass at the park, or non-salty water at the river? I’ll never know.

    Beryl is a surprisingly big sniffer for a sighthound too. I love George’s ears. So expressive:)

    We are passing on our recent Versatile Blogger award to you and George. Stop by my blog if you’d like to pick it up. It’s obligation free though:)

    • We’ve thought about how lovely it would be to live at the seaside, too. However, the locals whom we’ve made friends with told us that the weather conditions can be treacherous in the winter. The North Coast has got really strong winds all year around, but they’re icy cold in the winter…I’m not sure if George would appreciate that…

      Thank you so much about the award! It’s such an unexpected and wonderful surprise…What a way to end the weekend! Of course we’re delighted to accept it, I’ll come and pick it up in a minute. Thanks again! x

  9. lifewith4cats

    @pamela Judging wind direction by his ears. heheh thats a good one.

    @Baladeers book reference: Liked it, wrote it down.

    First, thats a great idea for a picture. and second, I really miss the endless horizon of the ocean. I sure hope I get to make time for an ocean trip of my own this season.

  10. The beach is my favorite place to be, especially a quiet, non-commercial one like you’ve described. We like to go around the first week of September because it’s even less crowded then and lots of school-aged children have just started the school year. The only problem with September and east-coast U.S. beaches is it’s hurricane season. It takes a little luck to time it right. I look forward to seeing photos of your excursion. I love the photo you selected of George too. Have a great weekend!

    • Thanks, Kristin. We went there the first week of September last year, just before the kids went back to school. We like to leave it for the end of the summer holiday, then we can start the new school year refreshed and ready to go.
      Hurricanes…Oh, I don’t like the sound of them. Luckily, we don’t have to worry about such things over here, but I’ve seen enough of yours on TV to know that I don’t like them. So take care when you go, I hope the weather’ll be on your side.
      I will definitely post some photos of our trip, but not any time soon, as we’re not going until the end of August.

  11. I’m looking forward to pictures of your getaway! Oscar’s never experienced the sand, the sea air or the ocean, so we’re hoping to take him to the beach this summer. πŸ™‚

    • Oh, do make the time to take Oscar to the beach, it’s an experience every dog has to…experience. I wonder if he’d like it…My mother-in-law’s chihuahua wasn’t too impressed with the sand, because he kept sinking in and the sand touched his tummy πŸ™‚ Oscar might ask you to pick him up at times…

  12. I love the photo perspective! I often forget to think about photos/angles from Gus’s point of view.

    George’s ears look oh-so-cute! πŸ˜€

    • Oh, I’ve wondered what life looks like from Gus’ perspective. I bet that, just like George,he’s got some interesting theories about what you or the world should or shouldn’t be doing, depending on what suits his own needs πŸ˜›

      Glad you like his wonky ears!

  13. Kas

    Oooo great photo!! Sometimes we need to remember to see the world from a dog’s point of view. The world might be a happier place that way. πŸ™‚

  14. Sorry for my delay in responding! We were in Toronto this weekend for a Red Sox game and visiting family. I tried to catch up a bit with my blogging friends while there but it doesn’t take long before I fall behind. I missed this somehow — and I’m absolutely touched with the connection to George’s picture. Thanks, Didi. The photograph is priceless, the way the ears are featured and as others have noted, the ocean spot looks heavenly. It’s such an inviting place and picture. Great post!

  15. Love the photo Didi. Georges ears seem to make a statement that only he could make. Now you and Robin have inspired me to make a post of our trip to the beach with Sia.

  16. Pingback: Off To The Seaside… | my little dog

Leave a Reply

