A World of Whippet Paraphernalia

This morning, whilst I was drinking my tea out of my whippet cup (pictured below), I realised that we don’t have many whippety things around our home. You know, ornaments, vases, lamps…things that would tell the world we’re into whippets. Statements of our dedication to the breed and love for our dog.

I know a woman – let’s call her Sue – who has built her whole life around whippets. Her house is a “whippet shrine”, as she likes to call it. You know that whippets rule around there before you even get to the house. There’s an oversized whippet statue guarding the end of the drive, plus a number of other garden ornaments scattered between the flowers, in front of the house. The door is, again, guarded by two identical marble whippets (which must have cost a fortune). The first glimpse of the interior decorations can struck you like lightning. Everything is whippety…I mean, everything. Whippet paintings on the wall, whippet ornaments in the glass cabinets and pretty much everywhere else, whippet blanket and cushions on the sofa, whippet rug on the floor, whippet vase on the table, whippet lamp in the corner of the room, plus a big box full ofย  whippet toys. And, of course, real whippets. 8 of them, to be precise. She’s even personalised her car registration plate to include some sort of abbreviation of the word ‘whippet’!

I’ve only got the whippet cup and a small photo of George on a bookcase shelf. Whilst I’d like to acquire a couple of whippet ornaments for my display cabinet and maybe have a portrait of George painted by a real artist, I’m not planning to go much further than that. However much I love George and like his breed, there is a limit beyond which my love and interest could border on madness. Too much is too much. Although Sue is a lovely person and I appreciate her dedication, I won’t be visiting her house again. I found her obsession with whippet paraphernalia very off-putting. Some of those objects were real gems that I would have liked to have in my own home (like the sculpted floor lamp in the corner of her living room), but the overall effect was just too overwhelming.

So here’s my only piece of whippet paraphernalia. So far. My precious whippet cup. Isn’t it beautiful?

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

Do you have any dog, cat or other pet-related decorative objects on display around your home? Are you a collector of such treasures? Do you know anyone like Sue?

And yes, before you say it, I’ve used to word “whippet” a lot in this post. 23 times, if my maths is correct. Hopefully, by doing so, I’ve managed to render the feeling of suffocation I got when faced with Sue’s obsession.

*****

45 Comments

Filed under Whilst walking the dog

45 responses to “A World of Whippet Paraphernalia

  1. Woof! Woof! Absolutely … my peeps loves anything that is Golden. Recently got a photo canvas of myself. (Oh! we have a giveaway – today is the last day to enter. Check it out!).
    Any dog/pet lover always love stuffs about their dog/pet and proud to display it. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

    • Hi, Sugar, and thanks for stopping by. Can’t blame your humans for being obsessed with anything Golden, not when they’ve got the gorgeous you in the house! You know, your thumbnail in the blog hop list caught my eye, and I was on my way to check out your blog. See you there! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Your Whippet mug looks lovely—very sophisticated. If I could find something similar for the Poodle breed, I would take it home without any hesitation! The challenge with Poodles, however, is that they can have many different “looks” depending on how their coats are clipped. In most cases, Poodle paraphernalia tend to depict the frou-frou / pom-pom “look” which Maple is very unlikely to sport (if I can help it, that is, LOL!). As for Sue, wow, I am floored by her collection of Whippet items—that’s what I call a passion!

    • I know what you mean. The shop I got my mug from had different ones for different breeds, including the poodle. But the picture on the cup was, indeed, depicting the stereotypical pom-pom look, as you say, so it would be no good to you.
      What I liked about my cup is that the whippet is portrayed in black and white, so I can imagine it’s George. Since whippets come in so many colour combinations, I haven’t yet found any ornament that looks like him,which is why my collection is so limited…

  3. Kas

    Well since we have a whole gaggle of ragamuffins (LOL), we have a variety of breed things. I have a bunch of bichon things, some Aussie things, and then a couple of random mutt dog looking things. I do love your whippet cup, and George should have a whippet calendar made of him. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I doubt there is paraphenelia for my breed… most people give me a blank look when I say “Aussie doodle”… and decorating wiht both breeds would really throw people off when they do see my dog, along with being overkill.
    A neighbour with two scottie dogs has a number of scotty pieces, but they’re sneaky. Things like bookends and white-on-white or black-on-black patterns on blankets… and you come upon random scotty things in unexpected places (I’m not snoopy, I just house-sit for them, and finding cutlery in their kitchen is difficult), like a cheese knife with a scotty-patterned handle.

    • Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I like the sound of your dog, I’ll come and visit your blog to meet her. Your neighbour sounds a bit messy and almost obsessed ๐Ÿ˜› I’ve never heard of a dog-patterned knife before…

      • just the handle… Their house is very very (VERY… like museum level) clean, just organized in a baffling way (to me). They definitely love their scotties, but they avoid the knick-knacks in favour of things that have scotty patterns on them. Though I could totally picture them getting two life-sized stone scotty dogs to guard their driveway and entrance ๐Ÿ˜›

      • ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ Guarding scotties! Scary…:P

  5. WHIPPET …. WHIPPET GOOD!!!!!

    I really like the Whippet mug you have but that woman’s home sounded like a police drama where the creepy guy’s shabby apt is decorated with nothing but photos of the object of his obsession.

  6. Balladeer’s comment is so funny. I agree — would be too much for me. Since Grace is a mutt (a beautiful one), I can’t collect breed-specific things for her anyhow, but I wouldn’t. I must admit to have a “cookie” jar (for her treats) hand-painted using a picture of her. It’s nice but it’s not a perfect rendition of her. The one I saw in the store looked almost exactly like her but the background color was wrong for our house so I asked the shopkeeper if there were others. She said no, but the artist could create one. I thought that would be perfect and I shared a picture of Grace to help, but the original actually looked more like her. Oh well. It’s still nice. I do have one other animal obsession: I collect giraffes — have done that since I was a little girl. As a teenager, my room looked like the way that woman had whippet stuff everywhere. I still have a lot, but it’s not overpowering. Thankfully!

    • A cookie jar with a hand-made picture of Grace sounds really cool…Maybe I can get something like this done using one of my George pictures?!
      I like giraffes, too, but not enough to collect them. Having said that, there’s a garden centre close to our home, and they have these gorgeous ornamental giraffes for sale. One is real-size, one is half-size and the other is much smaller. My husband and I have often joked about buying the big one and sticking it in the front garden, just to annoy the neighbours. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. We’ve been fortunate enough to travel to some really fun and enjoyable Greyhound events. When we go, we usually do come home with some sort of Greyhound art, but I wouldn’t say that our house is any sort of Greyhound shrine. We have the things scattered throughout the house in different places, and I certainly hope it isn’t overwhelming for people. I know that there’s a lot of rather tacky stuff available out there, but that’s not quite the sort of stuff we’ve got. All of the pictures that we have in the house are actually from places and represent things that are important to us. We have some lovely pictures from Door County, a place my husband used to vacation at a lot as a kid and that we went to several times. I want our home to reflect what’s important to us, and be the place where we are comfortable and happy.

    P.S. My hubby does Morgan’s blog! That’s all theirs and I leave it alone! lol

    • Couldn’t agree more, we’re the same. Pretty much everything ornamental we’ve got around the house has an emotional value and means something special to us. I bought my whippet cup in a little and quirky seaside village that we like to go to every summer, and just looking at it brings back happy holiday memories.

      So Morgan is daddy’s girl, then? Nice blog, I’ll stop by again to see what they’re up to.

  8. thank goodness – i’m not mad! the only pics i have of the dogs anywhere are one of jordan, shortly to be joined by one of rufus. no doubt georgia will get there one day too, but i hope not too soon.

    i have some 18th century type doggie black and white illustrations that i bought in NZ 20 years ago too but those are just for pretty .

    i don;t know anyone like sue and i’m happy to keep it that way. obsession of any kind is just creepy [this is my fave word of the week].

    your whippet mug is very nice ๐Ÿ™‚

    • ๐Ÿ˜€ Mad? Who, you? No way…Although if you’re asking Georgia….:P
      I think it’s beautiful that you put up pictures of your fur babies to remember them after they’ve gone. This way they’ll stay with you forever and you can remember the good times.
      Those 18th century illustrations are probably not only pretty, but quite valuable, too. I love black and white visual art…The only picture of George that I’ve got framed was printed in black and white, I just loved the contrast.

      Glad you like my mug ๐Ÿ˜‰

      P.S. ‘creepy’ is one of Brianna’s favourite words…

  9. We have a few trinkets, but I’m a firm believer that less is more. I can’t stand a lot of clutter, so I try to keep it to a minimum. My best whippet decorations are my whippets, and the greyhound too of course. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. lifewith4cats

    When I was 12, I collected fanaticly anything to do with cats or tigers. Even going so far as cutting out magazine adds to hang up. But that was what I call a ‘healthy childish phase’.

    would you believe I looked around my house today, and counted. I only have 4 cat things. 2 are unusual window chimes I love. And two are paintings that my mom forced on me.

    Obsession of any kind, wether it is for a pet or a person… well its a fine line between healthy admiration and unhealthy infatuation. ooh, its hard to comment briefly and in an upbeat manner… I feel very strongly on the subject.

    Definitly get a calander of George, and a portrait. And don’t let Brianna see the next sentence… Get her a blanket throw as a gift with Georges photo on it. She will love that. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I’m not surprised you haven’t got many cat things lying around your house. You just don’t seem the crazy collector type to me. Plus, you’ve got your 4 babies filling your life…
      I’d quite like to hear your opinion on the subject. Maybe in a post on your personal blog? If you feel strongly about the subject, then it’s bound to be an exciting post.
      I won’t tell Brianna about your suggestion, but I won’t forget it, either. Her and George love to share her soft, cuddly blanket on cooler days, so a ‘George’ blanket would be quite an inspired gift. I’ll have to see where I can get one done. Thanks for the idea, Sara.

  11. My decorative objects are the dogs themselves! They would break any trinkets anyway! : )

  12. “Sue” sounds very enthusiastic about Whippets, but what some people deem enthusiastic can be overwhelming for others. I have no doubt her heart is in the right place, but turning a house into a shrine isn’t for me.

    We have a single framed picture of Oscar sitting on our bookshelf, but I’ve been on the outlook for cute mugs with “I โค My Dog" printed on it. I'm sure Oscar appreciates me spending money on treats instead. ๐Ÿ˜›

    • I’m sure he does! After all, from his point of view, buying him treats is a better love gesture than decorating your walls with lots and lots of little Oscars ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve seen quite a few cute doggy mugs on the Internet, maybe you could find something suitable on there.

  13. Sue here …. but not THE Sue! And I don’t have much doggie stuff around the house. I have a Golden Retriever mug given to me by a non-doggie friend who thinks a dog is a dog perhaps? And a few photos of dogs I’ve loved and lost. I have useful doggie stuff like crates and bean bags and coats and collars, all the essentials:) Yes, the other Sue’s place does sound very overwhelming and suffocating!

    • Oops, I didn’t know you were called Sue! Sorry for using your name. I could have picked any name in the world, but somehow yours was the first that came to my mind, and I happen to like it, so here you go. I’m glad to hear that the similarities stop here ๐Ÿ˜‰
      A Golden Retriever mug? Hmm, doesn’t look much like Beryl, I’m sure. If you kept it, either the mug is very nice, or you are very polite and don’t want to offend your friend ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. that looks like a wonderful mug. I can understand where you are coming from with said lady. It can indeed go overboard easily. Luna is a big part of our life, but as much as we love them they are still our “pets” and yes family members but there has to be a balance. Anything vizsla has pretty much been given to me by others. I have socks (from mom), a car sticker (friend), a christmas ornament (friend), and a painted stone plaque of sorts from a family member… oh and a book or two. Guess that means I have been good ;-). I hope to go to the vizsla nationals next year, and I may not be as good there since it’s all geared towards Vizslas. If I had more room for mugs it may be next.

    Now as far as dog gear in our house, there is no way to hide it, hopefully i can better organize it some day.
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

    • It’s funny how people have made sure to stock you up with vizsla things. They must know how much you love Luna and the breed in general.
      I’d be worried, too, if I was going to an event where I’m likely to be tempted by a multitude of wonderful whippety things that I can’t resist. I think I’d have to set a budget and stick to it…
      Dog gear…we’ve got a lot of gear for George. It’s all kept in a very messy drawer, so we can’t see it. Apart from his crate, which lives under Brianna’s bed, his toys, which live in a box in the front room, his bed…Uhh ohh, sounds like we’re not that organised, either…

  15. Since Gus is a bit of a mystery, we don’t have any breed related items, but we do have TONS of photos! We’ve also made a few photo coffee mugs adorned with his cute face.

    Your whippet cup is adorable. ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. interesting subject, I thought whippet some kind of a term, I have to look at my dictionary to know the real meaning.

    Your post reminds me of a post I have in my draft. I have several turtles items. I am not sure has it turn into an obsession or not, I let you to be the judge of that. Will post it tomorrow.

    • Hi, Novroz. Whippet is the name of my dog’s breed…
      I’m glad I’ve prompted you to dig out your draft post. Looking forward to reading it.

      • unfortunately it has to wait for a while ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
        last night when I was ready to open my blogs…my computer won’t start…I had it fixed and had to wait.

        I am currently traveling from one blog to another using my mobilephone

  17. First off I love your Whippet mug! I could not find any nice ones here so I took my photos to Big W and got a pair of mugs made up with a collage of pics of the boys!
    I look around me and see very few Whippet ‘stuff’ compared to my Gundog years, there are absolutely tons of Labrador and Golden ‘things that you cannot live without’, my Whippet stuff is limited to my throw rug, the mugs, some car stickers, 1 on each window of the motor home, a pendant and a pair of matching ear rings and my favourite pics that I put out when we are ‘parked up’ for any length of time!
    One thing I am putting together is a vest with badges and stickers etc of all my dog history – think those vests one sees ‘bikies’ wearing…..in fact my vest started life as my Ulysses vest! It is now adorned with Whippets and Labs and dog club badges!
    I shall photograph it and get the boys to write about it in their blog!

  18. Pingback: How Much Is Too Much? | Kame & Kroten Blog

  19. To say that we have pet related items around the house is an understatement. In fact, my avatar is a whippet garden statue.

    • Yes, but you’ve got an excuse: you’re a man of the visual arts ๐Ÿ˜‰ And I’d love a whippet statue in my garden…All I’ve got at the moment is a meerkat, which I bought because it was the most whippety thing I could find at that time ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

