Mystery Creature Revealed

OK, voting is now closed, folks. All votes have been counted and verified by an independent (not) judge. I can now reveal who George’s mystery friend is and, more importantly, who won the ‘Guess Who’ competition.

Taadadada…Meet Ishoo, everybody.

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

Ishoo is my mother-in-law’s Yorkshire Terrier and George’s youngest buddy. He is 1 now, but was only about 5-6 months old in that photo. He’s still a tiny boy, but has a lot of character and we are convinced that he’s a whippet at heart, since the behavioural similarities between him and George are amazing. Which might be why they’re best mates and George prefers him over dogs his own size.

Here is the original photo…

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

…and another one just because they’re both so cute:

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

Now we’ve come to the exciting part…The Awards Ceremony! And the winner is … complicated.

No one guessed that George was playing with ‘Ishoo the Yorkshire Terrier’, but a few of you have identified or guessed some key elements. Therefore, in joint first place, we’ve got Kristine and Carrie, who both guessed George was playing with another dog. Ladies, please let me know if you’d like your fur babies to make a guest appearance on our blog at some point in the near future.

Because I’m a softy, I’ve got a few more awards to hand out. First, our worthy runner-up is Kas, who guessed George is playing with another animal, smaller than him, but then got distracted and failed to identify it as being a dog. Her silly answers would have won her the comedy prize, if there was one. Which there isn’t, of course, since this is a serious blog.

We’ve also got two special prizes. The prize for originality goes to Sara, who guessed that George was playing with a toad!!, and the prize for logic goes to Melissa who deducted that George is playing with someone smaller than him, whom he’s not very familiar with. I find this impressive, given the fact that Melissa is not a doggy person. Indeed, this was the first ‘unsupervised’ play session George and Ishoo shared outside in the garden, so they were both testing the water.

I have really enjoyed everybody’s answers, so I’d like to thank you all for playing along. The funny thing is that I came close to choosing a similar photo in which George was playing with Brianna, which would have made pretty much everyone else a winner. Such is life.

I hope you’ve enjoyed out little game. It’s back to more serious stuff next week. Have a nice weekend!

33 Comments

Filed under General

33 responses to “Mystery Creature Revealed

  1. This is great—I like seeing the pieces of the puzzle coming together in the completed picture of George and Ishoo. What a cute twosome they make! It certainly looks like they both get along well and could become one another’s BFF (Best Furfriend Forever). 😀

    Congrats to the winners of the Awards Ceremony! It was fun reading all the guesses. Looking forward to the next game. Until then, happy weekends all around!

    • Thank you, I’m glad you had fun. You’re right, they are BFF (thanks for explaining what that means, I would have had to Google it). It’s nice to watch them play nicely.

  2. SandySays1

    Wow, I thought he might be playing with a toy!
    Pssssst, George! Is she telling the truth? That Yorky looks stuffed to me.
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

    • 😀 No, Sandy, he’s not stuffed, trust me. Unless he’s got a Duracell battery inside, because he doesn’t stay still long.
      Thanks for stopping by our blog, I’ll check yours our in a minute. 🙂

  3. Aah…I missed the guessing game…been quite busy lately 😦
    what a cute mystery creature 😉
    George looks like having a new toy than a new friend

    • Ha, Ishoo does look like a toy, doesn’t he? Believe it or not, he’s even cuter now that he’s older. I’ll have to post a more recent photo of him at some point.

  4. In the full picture, it looks like Ishoo is showing a little bit of attitude and George is just begging for some attention. It would be a good picture for a caption contest.

    • Thanks, Pamela. Ishoo did definitely have a bit of attitude at that age, but he’s learnt a bit now that he’s older (training is still ongoing). George doesn’t need to beg for attention with Ishoo, he gets too much of it sometimes. Compared to Ishoo, it looks like my whippet is slowing down a bit 🙂

  5. Ishoo is so cute! And oh-so-tiny!

    They look like an unlikely pair – but it’s obvious they are best buds. 😀

    • Yes, Ishoo is very tiny for a Yorkie, but his small size is compensated by a huge personality and a lot of energy. I think he’d be a good match for Gus, who happens to look a little like Ishoo’s chihuahua brother 🙂

  6. Oh NO! I’m so far behind that I missed this (I still have the previous post to read, yikes!). I can’t wait to go back and read the comments when people were guessing. I probably would have said Brianna. George was looking at his eye level and did seem like he was having fun rather than wanting to dominate. When I saw the first line about the voting been closed, I thought, darn! Great idea for a post, Didi!

  7. Didi! This was so fun. And thanks for the award for logic — that’s hilarious. I love how your mind works. You always see these amazing sides of George, and it’s a joy to read your posts.

    Congratulations to the winners! Nice work!

    Have a great weekend! 🙂

  8. Ishoo is a pretty cute dog, too! If his Mom ever wants him to do a Guest Commentator bit just let me know.

    • Thanks for the offer, Ed. I’ll pass it on to Ishoo’s mum. She’s not into blogs and blogging, but she might like you to make her little baby famous 🙂

  9. Well, I got that wrong, but they’re definitely cute together now that I can see both. Happy weekend to you all.

  10. lifewith4cats

    This has been a really fun post. And seeing George in the second picture with ishoo is so cute!

    • Thanks, Sara, I’m glad you enjoyed it. They are cute, aren’t they? So different, yet best buddies…
      On my way to your blogs now, I think I’m behind with my reading.

  11. Oh, I was so wrong, lol! Ishoo is just about as cute as George and it’s awesome to see them together and being such great mates. I don’t think Beryl would want to get that close to something that small!

    • I think you’re right, Ishoo might be just a little bit too small for Beryl…She would probably mistaken him for a rabbit. I hate to think what would happen then :S George doesn’t mind Ishoo’s size, but seems to be aware of it, as he’s very careful not to run him over when they’re running around at 100 mph.

  12. Bunny would love to make a guest appearance! She thought it would be an excellent adventure! 🙂

    • Brilliant, Carrie. Say thanks to Bunny from us. George is very excited to have one of his favourite girlies as a guest. If you could email me a photo of Bunny when you’ve got the time, I’ll try to come up with a cute little post about the Bunny princess. 🙂

  13. Cute, also feel free to enter my giveaway that ends tomorrow if you have a chance: http://lifeofabeagle.blogspot.com/2011/04/walkadog-trainer-review-and-giveaway.html

  14. Sam

    Congratulations to the winners!

    Sam

  15. What a great photo! They look like they could not care a bit about their differences…awesome way to be. : ) We can learn so much from our pups.

    • I completely agree with you, we’ve got a lot to learn from our dogs, in their eyes, they’re all the same.
      Thanks for stopping by our blog, we’ll return the visit in a minute.

  16. Hello Didi: You have won a surprise dog toy at http://www.AllThingsDogBlog.com. Read the post here at the following link and then send me your address for mailing. Congratulations! http://www.allthingsdogblog.com/2011/05/surprise-dog-toys-awarded-to-observant.html

  17. Pingback: George Had Guests | my little dog

Leave a Reply

