The Whippet Clock, or Can Your Dog Tell the Time? (Part 2)

Last week I published Part 1 to our highly structured daily routine according to our little whippet clock. Today, as promised, I return to Part 2, which tells about George’s afternoons and evenings. So, let’s continue.

15.45 Brianna gets back from school and George awakes from his slumber to greet her. Jumps up her, gives her a kiss and picks up his squeaky Christmas cracker (a present from Brianna), anticipating a game with his sister. This is the only time he shows an interest in this toy, so somehow he must know it’s a present from her. The kids have a whole hour to mess about and chase each other around the house or garden, whilst the adults cook the evening meal.

17.00 George is making his presence felt in the kitchen and would not leave. Hunger has kicked in again and the aromas coming from the oven don’t help. George is either lying in front of the oven, making sure he doesn’t miss anything, or sniffing the worktop trying to work out what we’re cooking.

17.15 Dinner time. George gets his bowl of food and the humans sit at the table ready to enjoy theirs. George strolls to the kitchen to see what on his menu for the evening, sniffs it and walks away without even a bite. He’s convinced that our food is better than his, so he comes to check it out and beg for handouts from out table. Which he sometimes gets.

17.45 We’ve finished our meal and are washing up. George realises that he’s not going to get any ‘human’ food, so he finishes off his own rather quickly, as he knows there’s a lot of fun to come in the evening, before Brianna goes to bed. It’s family play time until 7 p.m. and he loves being part of it.

19.00 Brianna gets ready for her 1 hour of reading in bed and dad sits down trying to watch the news. George, however, has other ideas and starts to hassle him, asking for his evening game. Dad tries to resist but George always wins, so 15 minutes later I find them both collapsed on the floor, out of breath after a rough game of tug and chase. George is now ‘sorted’ for the evening – he knows that’s all the action for the day – and settles down.

20.00 George goes to sleep and will not wake up until we decide to go to bed. The time we choose to end the day varies, but let’s say it’s 11 p.m.

23.00 George goes out for his last toilet call. Then he rushes in, checks out if there are any biscuits left in his bowl, has a drink of water and claims his sleeping place in our bed. Night-night, George, see you in the morning!

That’s pretty much what it’s like living with our whippet. Of course, there are changes to this routine when we go away or when we have visitors, but he always reverts back to this schedule when we’re back to normal. I wonder if all dogs are like this.

The questions I asked before remain: Are your dogs strong on routine? Do they like to do the same things every day? Do they give a certain structure to your day? Can your dogs tell the time?

16 Comments

Filed under General

16 responses to “The Whippet Clock, or Can Your Dog Tell the Time? (Part 2)

  1. I enjoyed reading your two posts on ‘The Whippet Clock’ and now I can better imagine what a day in the life of your family is like. It’s so much fun learning about fellow bloggers this way. Thanks for sharing!

    • You’re welcome, I’m glad you liked them. You’re right, it’s fun learning about your unseen blogging friends, for me that’s one of the main attractions of blogging.

  2. Oh George, yes Clancy and Connor love structure in their day too, however not quite so regimented! For a start they do not have a human sister. Also, when we are travelling it is a bit hard to be quite so structured. But I think most dogs like to have a routine to live by, they like the odd days when the routine is all messed up to, just like us I suppose!
    Because of Easter and Anzac Day all running into one extra long (5 day) week-end my boys have been waking and sort of looking at me and posing the question ‘well are you going to work today? Or are we playing again? Are we? Are we?’ then when they realise that I am at home today too I get a mini Whippet Happy Dance on the bed! Only got one more day of this though…..

    • It’s so nice that you had 5 days to spend with your boys. It surely sounds like they appreciated it, I can picture the Whippet Happy Dance in my mind 🙂 Make the most of the last day!

  3. Kas

    George the Rain Man Part II … I love it! Our guys always act like their food is totally beneath them when they see/smell what we’re eating (even though they get premium food which is probably of higher quality than half the stuff that the OH and I eat haha).

    As far as telling time goes, I feel as though dogs live in the moment but that they also have a sense of time. The time that I return home for work is between 4pm-5:30pm, which is a fairly wide range. But somehow, the dogs always seem to know the exact moment that I am going to pull into the driveway – the OH gets home before I do and says that a couple of minutes before I turn down the street, the dogs perk up, go jump up on my bed, and stand at the bay window watching and waiting for me (and that’s also how he knows that I am almost home!). It’s amazing at how dogs seem to know these things and how they are so connected to us.

    • 😀 I love that first paragraph! Spoilt babies, having a really tough life, right? My husband says that George is most likely better fed than some humans we know – on the same wavelength as you!
      It’s amazing how your dogs can sense you’re coming home before being able to actually hear or see you. It just shows that there must be a strong mental connection between you and them. I think it’s just wonderful.

  4. I think I’ve mentioned how strong on routine Bogie is. It may depend on the breed, but certainly the ones that are sensitive to things out of the norm make great watchdogs.

  5. I spend half the day trying to get dad to take me out. It usually takes an hour of convincing (although he can seem to tell if it is an emergency). I spend the other half of the day trying to snucker (mom and dad’s term for this) people food of dog chew toys or trees. I spend the last half of the day chasing cats, sleeping on the bed, barking at any noise outside and waiting for mom to get home from work. The final half is spent trying to push mom and dad out of bed. Does that make the whole day?

    • Ha, ha, you’re a funny one, Yoda. I love your daily routine, and I know George would particularly enjoy the chasing cats bit and pushing mum and dad out of bed. Where do you find all those cats? 🙂

  6. Another great post. They are such creatures of habit, aren’t they?!

    Gus can absolutely tell time. He knows when it’s time for his walks, when it’s time to eat and when it’s time for us to get home from work.

    I might have to use this post idea sometime – if that’s okay with you – it was fun to read what a day in the life of George is like!

  7. Ours have varying degrees of time telling, and how important it is to them. Bunny and Blueberry will roll with the flow, sleep in as long as possible if we do and can handle things whenever they happen. Lilac and Morgan are a lot more structured on time. They expect to go out at 4:00 on the dot and get fed immediately afterwards. If we’re away from home, though, the routine doesn’t seem to matter at all.

    • Thanks for the comment, Carrie. It must be interesting to have 2 chilled out dogs and 2 ‘demanding’ ones. Completely different dynamics to single-dog families, I guess.

  8. I like this post. Dogs can tell time for sure. I think all animals have some sort of instinct for time as much as some animals have a instinct for direction. In fact, I heard on the radio just today about a scientist who discovered that a Humpback whales 2000 mile migration is done in a near perfect strait line.

    • Thank you for the comment, Nigel. I find the information you’ve shared about whales fascinating, they must be equipped with the perfect navigation systems. A couple of years ago I watched a DVD about whales and their journeys, produced by National Geographic. Unfortunately, I can’t remember as many details as I’d like, and your comment has given me the urge to look for it and watch it again. Thanks!

  9. Interesting post. Either my dogs clocks are broken or they just don’t care as they dont require that we stick to much routine. And honestly it’s hard to as a lot of life is based of work since we live where I work. But I think their clocks or lack of are a product of their environment. I crate my dogs at night, so if we do have a chance to sleep in we are able to, and they are very good about not fussing unless they are having a stomach issue. They have never been obnoxious about meal times either, but we also wouldn’t allow that, and don’t always have a set feeding time so they have learned to be flexible. Neither have ad to deal with me having a 9-5 job because I have not had one with them that I was not able to either be here or bring them. I know they would do fine with it though as they don’t seem to care a whole lot if we leave. Overall they are go with the flow sort of dogs, and I like that.
    If I felt our timeline would be half as interesting as yours I may steal your idea, but we live a pretty boring life lol.
    Take care
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

Leave a Reply

