How Much is that Doggy on the Armchair?

We had another playful weekend the other week, and boy it was fun. We were more outdoor oriented this time, as the weather gods have finally decided it was spring and rewarded us with glorious, sunny weather and quite a few degrees on the Celsius scale. Out and into the wild we went, eager to check out our forest, our fields and pretty much everything else in our corner of the world. I’m happy to report that everything is still in place and turning bright green but, as I left my camera at home – doh! – I have no evidence to back this up. So I’ll have to return to it some other time.

This post is about another one of our family games, which we indulged in after we returned from the walk. George was pretty much exhausted and went to sleep in his dad’s chair, as always, so it was up to Brianna to decide what she wanted to do. She said she was going to her room to ‘think about it’, and re-emerged half an hour later with one of those I’m very pleased with myself looks on her face.

In a solemn voice she announced that “today we’re not playing anything …because I’m too busy with my new business. I’ve opened a new shop in my bedroom!”.

I’ve got to tell you that my daughter is quite entrepreneurial that way. She’s always looking for a way to earn her living, and her bedroom often turns into the premises of her new business ventures. It has served as a cafe, zoo, school and dog kennels in the past, so it was only a matter of time until the idea of a shop sprung into her mind. This was the day.

In the half an hour she took to prepare for the grand opening, she’d covered every item she owns with ‘For Sale’ signs and price tags, and her door was filled with all sorts of announcements, from the opening hours to irresistible offers for the potential customers.

So we loaded our pockets with pennies and queued up outside the shop door, excited at the prospect of what we might find inside. I have to admit that we were quite impressed at the level of organisation and the professional, helpful and friendly service we found. Here’s a little snippet of what the shop had on offer:

                https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

Now, you wouldn’t expect Brianna to leave out her precious companion – the little whippet called George – would you? She involved him in her shopkeeping game, by delegating him a very important role: that of the most expensive item on sale! Needless to say that George was not at all impressed with his new status. In actual fact, he was completely disgusted at such humiliation, but was too tired to do anything about it, so he just sat there looking sad.

                https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

What do you think? Not a happy bunny, right? But do not worry, she did buy him back at the end of the game and they’re best mates again!

10 Comments

Filed under General, Photo diary

10 responses to “How Much is that Doggy on the Armchair?

  1. Sara

    Your Bri is a gem!! When I used to play this game, Ide get out my moms paper and stapler. To make pretend wallets and purses to hold my pretend money.

    • There’s always pretend money flying around our house, too, although Brianna hasn’t thought of making pretend purses yet. She would if I told her about it, since she’s mad on things like this. I used to play shops, too. I wonder if it’s a girl thing…

  2. HILARIOUS! Brianna sounds like such a wonderful little girl. She has a bright future already ahead of her!

    and you’re right, George does not look amused being put up for sale but I’m glad she bought him back at the end 😉

    • Thanks, Kristen. She’s definitely got a good imagination, which I hope will lead to something in the future. I’m glad to report that George seems to have got over the upset of that day 🙂

  3. Oh man! You’re going to always be on your toes with your daughter! lol Poor George! I’d have bought him and brought him home with me in a heartbeat!

    • Oh yes, she surely keeps us entertained! No boredom in this house at the moment. As for George, he did feel sorry for himself that day, but he’s back to normal now. I have a feeling he would have loved a visit over there to see your beautiful girls, he’s always on the lookout for nice girlfriends 😉

  4. I like this post Didi. George has the look of being “had” and too tired to protest it.

  5. What a great game to play and keep herself entertained! When I was young I loved playing “shop” games.

    So glad to hear George was purchased. 🙂

    • I agree that shop games are great. I loved them, too, when I was a child, just I didn’t have a dog to sell 😀 George was happy to be bought back, helped him to get over the shock. I can’t help thinking that Gus would be similarly disgusted if it happened to him 🙂

Leave a Reply

