Tantalising Tripe and Rice Pate

I never would have thought that my first positive review on this blog would be for a Pets at Home product. We normally avoid pet shops, especially the big chains, partly due to our aversion to consumerism and commercial monopoly and partly because we don’t need to go to such shops. As you already know, we feed George a natural diet, so all his meat and bones are sourced from the local butchers or online shops, whilst most of the vegetables come from our own garden.

However, since we are out and about a lot in the good weather and that time is nearing, we’ve been on the hunt for a quality, no-compromise alternative to his raw meat, especially the tripe. As those of you who have been near the green stuff will know, this is not exactly the best thing to take with you when you go camping and have no fridge to keep it in.

For this reason, we decided to give the pet shop a chance and see what we can find there. Well, we were surprised to find on their shelves a quality complete food that contains the much desired tripe. Not only is it good, but it is also sold under their brand name, as part of their own range.

Many commercial dog foods – either in tins or pouches – do not contain more than 45% meat and are packed with artificial additives and flavourings. I personally don’t think these are good for any dog, since the meat content is too low and the artificial add-ons are likely to cause more damage than good. The Pets at Home Tantalising Tripe and Rice Pate, however, contains approximately 70% meat overall, plus a few other natural ingredients and vitamins:

                https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

The packaging itself is designed in a minimalist style and looks like is made of recycled paper. The image it tries to promote is, obviously, that of a simple, quality and ‘ethical’ product. As for the brand name, it does not jump out at you and it took me a while to find out whose product this is. It is only when you read the small print on the back that you find out this food is produced – in the UK! – for Pets at Home.

                https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

Compared to what I’ve seen so far, this product is so ethical and atypical for big pet shop chains that it makes me wonder. Have they actually learned anything then? Are they finally starting to listen to the public? Are they changing with the times? I don’t know, but for once it’s thumbs up to one of their products.

10 Comments

Filed under Reviews

10 responses to “Tantalising Tripe and Rice Pate

  1. Sara

    The thing I admire about you is that though you have a large human family with which you are invoved, Youve got a garden which you maintain, and probably so many other time obligations that I dont know about. Yet you still made and found the time to research food options for your new dog and then again to impliment the raw diet in the first place. Thats what I admire.
    I am not so organized. More and more I feel as if Im feeding my cats ‘garbage’ even though I aim for high quality protien kibble, its still kibble. How you manage all that you do, Ill never know. Ill need to untrain my cats to kibble before I can even begin to train them in the ways of barf.

    • You always leave nice comments, Sara, thank you very much. I’m not a superwoman, but I’ve learnt to be organised and (still) have a lot of energy to carry me through everything I want or have to do every day. However, I do sometimes tell myself that I need to slow down as I’m getting older 😉

  2. That looks like a great alternative to the raw when you are in places and situations where raw isn’t convenient. Good find!

  3. Ditto on Kristen’s comment…it’s wonderful you found a product you like that’s quick an easy if you need something in a pinch!

  4. I agree with the others that it is admirable that you take the time to find a healthy food source. It is very important — we are what we eat, right? Well done and thank you for sharing. My sister, who does a lot of volunteer work to foster and place rescue dogs, is very committed to healthy food for dogs and raised my awareness a lot about the awful stuff that is prevalent on the market. Hopefully demand will change what the manufacturer’s produce! Good work, as always!

    • Thanks, Robin. I agree that we are what we eat, which is why our diet is so high on our priority list. Your sister sounds like an endless pool of knowledge, I wish I had somebody like her to advise me when we first got George.

  5. I hope this is the beginning of a revolutionary change in the pet food industry. There certainly needs to be greater awareness about other dietary alternatives to kibbles. By the way, I’m so excited to be sharing this with you… we were at the butcher shop this past weekend and bought our very first package of raw beef marrow bones. We can’t wait to surprise Maple!

    • I am really, really impressed with your interest in giving Maple the best diet/lifestyle possible (as shown by your posts on the dog food available over there). I can’t wait to find out what Maple made of her bones. There must be a post about this on your blog, I’ll catch up with everything you and Maple have been up to for the past 10 days tomorrow morning. x

Leave a Reply

