Bad Habits Die Hard

I just found out it’s National ‘No Smoking’ Day here in the UK, so I’ve changed my posting plans – for the second time this week! – to match the event.

I mean no offence to those of you who smoke, but I am not a big fan of the tobacco industry. I’ve never smoked and have never been tempted to try out a ciggie ‘just to see what it tastes like’. I am also lucky that all members of my family and all my friends are non-smokers and therefore, since the ban on smoking in public places came into effect, I have been able to live my life virtually smoke-free. Hooray!

Anyway, to honour the day, I wanted to share a cute photo of baby George SMOKING!

               https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/ 

Before you panic and call the RSPCA to report the abuse, let me confirm that he was only allowed to try on light stuff like the rawhide cigar pictured above. He was given these to help him through his teething period and save our hands, my cushions and his blankets from irreversible damage, but he really took to them and developed a full-blown addiction which he carried through with him into his teens. It was a hard habit to break, and he only agreed to let go when his mouth became too big for the cigars. Now he’s addicted to chewing bones, which is a more acceptable and dignified thing to do. If you’re a dog, of course.

Before I go, here’s another picture of our cheeky boy, indulging himself in his addiction whilst in Daddy’s arms!

              https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

16 Comments

Filed under Photo diary

16 responses to “Bad Habits Die Hard

  1. Scriptor Obscura

    Awww… 🙂

  2. We were on the same wave length today! Those photos of George are so cute! Especially the one in his daddy’s arms…absolutely precious.

    Gus likes to turn all sorts of things into “stogies”. Green beans, carrots, chews all look like cigars when he carries them around in his mouth. 🙂

  3. Hey, I always pictured George as more of a long cigarette holder man than a stogie smoker, but that’s just me.

  4. I think a pipe would be more dignified. 😉

    • Now, don’t give George any ideas…We’ve had enough trouble already!
      When I was a child, my dad used to mess about with a pipe once or twice a year, and I remember I quite liked the smell. Not enough to want to try it, though.

  5. lifewith4cats

    George is so photogentic. I am still in love with his eyes and now his ears are starting to grow on me. He just looks so darn happy and cute. *speaking of white stripes.. You should do a post on the breed of wippet. Why they came in to existence and such.
    p.s. Babyboy loved those liver treats so much that now he always goes to my fridgerator and begs. Liver is going to be something I have to buy more often now. He loves food in general, but the Liver treats go beyond even that for him. 🙂

    • Oh, Sara, you’ve made George blush with delight. I loved his blue puppy eyes, and I was a bit sad when they started to change, although I knew that they were supposed to. But I love his deep brown eyes, too, and my heart melts when he puts his head close to mine and looks into my eyes – it feels like he’s reading my soul. I’m glad you like the ears, I think they’re so representative for his character and cheekiness.
      You know, I never thought of writing about the breed, probably because I felt it would be boring to other people. But it’s not a bad idea at all, I will consider it. Then all those books that I’ve read about whippets will come to good use. Thanks for the idea!

  6. hey, you’re in the UK? and here i thought you were in ths States. well, blow me down!

    i have to admit i’ve smoked a few in my life. truth be told, i enjoy[ed] it. BUT, i’ve been smoke-free since Jordan died, 2 years ago. he didn’t like ciggy smoke, so i decided to stop then. so far so good.

    • Yes, we’re in the UK. I thought you knew…I was convinced that I had that information somewhere on the blog. Never mind, and I’m not going to blow you down, don’t worry.
      I wouldn’t like you less if you still smoked, but well done for quitting. I’m quite impressed really, because I know a number of people who have tried to stop smoking but did not succeed. I think it takes a lot of mental strength and strong motivation. I guess the sad event of Jordan’s death gave you exactly this…Keep going!

  7. I feel the same way you do about smoking. I have asthma and cigarette smoke is the worst trigger for me. I’ve never understood what the appeal would be!

    George, what’s next? Are you going to start tipping the bottle, too?

    • I don’t have asthma, but I still react badly to cigarette smoke (red eyes, sore throat, etc.), so I can only imagine how much worse it is for you.
      As for George, you’ll find his long nose in your tea cup if you don’t guard it properly, and has been seen trying to stick his tongue in a few beer bottles in his life. Nothing too serious so far, though, we’re not letting this one get out of control 🙂

  8. George is the coolest looking whippet ever.

  9. Aw…george is so cute!!

    It sad to think about tobako product, it makes people sick but at the same time it also absorbs many workers and decrease unemployement.

Leave a Reply

