And the Stylish Blogger Award Goes To…

This is not exactly the post I had in mind for today, but I’m more than happy to change my plans on this particular occasion. You see, on Friday I was pleasantly surprised to find out that one of our fellow bloggers, scriptorobscura, has read our blog and liked it enough to think that we deserve a Stylish Blogger Award! Thank you so much, I am honoured to receive it and happy to pass it on to some of my favourite blogs.

I’ve encountered different interpretations of what acceptance of this award involves. Some say that you should pass it on to 15 other blogs, others reduce the number to just 7. Since I’m relatively new to blogging, I honestly don’t think that I will be able to list 15 blogging friends just yet, but I’ll do my best to reach 10. I also don’t know if I should only choose blogs that are dog or pet-related. However, since there are a few blogs that operate in a difference niche to mine but are very close to my heart, I’ll just assume that I am free to pass this award on to whoever I want.

Apparently, I am also supposed to share some personal information about us. Well, here it is (don’t expect any dark secrets!):

1. George is my first ever dog and the baby of the family.

2. He will be three on 19 August, and is a Leo like his dad.

3. Although he is now a proper city whippet, George was born on a posh farm in beautiful Hampshire.

4. It took us 3 hours to drive down there to pick him up.

5. George hates water more than anything else. He won’t get anywhere near the sea, a river, or even a puddle. He’s got used to walking in the rain, though.

6. Our major hobbies and interests as a family include gardening, growing our own, home-made food and trying to lead a self-sufficient life based on traditional values. All this is documented on City Smallholder, a blog written mainly by Dad, but to which we are more than happy to contribute whenever we get the chance.

Now that I’ve fulfilled my obligations and you know a bit more about us, we’ve come to the most exciting part of this post: the Awards Ceremony.

So, the Stylish Blogger Award goes to:

According to Gus

lifewith4cats

littledogsonlongleashes

fearful dogs

play101

spiderpaw

balladeer’s blog

happybarkdays

tales and tails

George the Lad

               https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

Congratulations everyone, you all deserve it!  Thank you for your interesting posts, your inspiration and your friendship.

25 Comments

Filed under General

25 responses to “And the Stylish Blogger Award Goes To…

  1. Wow! I don’t know what to say! Thank you very much for listing my blog as a recipient of this award! You and George are such terrific folks! This means a lot since not everybody “gets” my unusual humor. I will get my post up about this and passing the honor on to other blogs, too! This is a great idea!

    • I never thought you’d be lost for words, Ed! 🙂 I’m really glad you like the idea, I thought you might. It’s a fun way to show some appreciation to people who deserve it and, at the same time, spread the word about great blogs.
      Nothing wrong with your sense of humour, as far as I’m concerned you rock! 😀
      I’m looking forward to seeing who you’re passing the award on to!

  2. ooh! Congrats to everyone!

  3. lifewith4cats

    Wonderful! I love it!
    Im not sure, do I copy and paste this? But I will be glad to do my part according to the award guidelines. It is such a pleasure reading about your love and care for George and I am so glad you thought of me.
    I really like that you don’t discriminate against cats. You recognize that all animals are worthy of love. Thats why we write after all.. its not about the animal so much as its about the love and sense of family and joy which animals bring.

    • I’m glad you like it, Sara. You definitely deserve it, your blog if witty and well written, your kitties are gorgeous and your love for them is infinite. I’d say you’re the perfect candidate! How could I discriminate, I know that everybody’s pets, regardless of what animal species they belong to, are just as special to them as George is to us. And you’re right, it’s about the love and joy they bring to us.

      Just copy the picture and paste it into your post, that’s what I did. If it doesn’t work, let me know and I’ll email you the picture.

  4. lifewith4cats

    p.s. Dads blog looks interesting, I suscribed.

  5. Wow! Thank you so much for honoring me with this award. What a fun idea. And though our only pets are gerbils, I’m happy to accept this award for the four humans living in my house. I truly enjoy reading your blog, and look forward to a continued online friendship. Thanks again!

    • You’re more than welcome, Melissa, and deserve all the recognition. I wasn’t going to let you out of the game just because you don’t write a pet blog, I’d like all my friends to find out about your great blog. Thanks for accepting the award, for everybody in your nice family – gerbils including 🙂

      • Thank you so much. Also, you don’t have to post this comment, but I wanted to let you know that I’d like to subscribe to your RSS feed — but for some reason I can’t. It’s not your site — it’s all of WordPress. For some reason, I can’t subscribe to any WordPress RSS feed. I’m working with the Happiness Engineers, and hopefully we can fix it soon. Then I can subscribe!

      • That’s strange, I’ve tested my RSS feeds and everything seems to work ok. As you say, it must be a WordPress error. If it still doesn’t work, I’ve got an email subscription on the blog, too, you could use that. I promise not to clog up your inbox with junk 🙂

  6. Thanks a lot Didi. I love this blog and my dog Sia thanks you as well. Sia did not take to water as well for a long time, but now she allows me to teach her how to swim, which we do in the summertime here as it can get very hot.

    • Sia not liking water must be part of her whippet heritage, because most whippets I’ve met hate water just as much as George. It’s nice that you’ve got her to swim though, both for her and for you. I wish George was as flexible and willing to try new things as Sia is… I’ll try to tempt him into the water again this coming summer – although I think teaching a pig how to fly is a more likely outcome than turning George into a swimmer.

  7. First off…congrats to you on your award! It’s such a great feeling to know that someone is reading what you’re writing!

    Thanks so much for thinking of us. I’ve enjoyed reading your posts and just clicked over to your other blog and am now craving pancakes! 🙂

    • You’re welcome! We couldn’t leave you out, since your blog is amongst the first we read every day. We love your posts and we love your blog, and George wishes you lived closer so that him and Gus can go out and play!
      How’s the pancake making going? We’ve been looking forward to Pancake Day, and I’ll be making mine really soon – I wasn’t allowed to make any until Brianna was home from school 🙂

  8. Thank you for making Miss Little Red Maple Leaf the happiest poodle on earth! We love catching up with you and George over the blogosphere. It’s also wonderful to be included in your line-up of “Stylish Blogger Award” recipients—what a great feeling to be part of the community 🙂 Keep it up with your entertaining stories!

    • It was my absolute pleasure, girls. It’s good to know that we contributed to Miss Little Maple Leaf’s hapiness! She’s a lovely girl and deserves a bit of recognition. You’re right about the community spirit, that’s what we love about blogging, too.

  9. oh my! what a good thing i popped by! thank you ms wright 🙂

    i love reading your blog. i’ve been meaning to come by and read your diet posts but time, time TIME! sorry to shout…just ran away. plus, i know you have a moderator and will pick up my comments even if i come late :p

    how interesting that you’re growing your own food and leading a self-sufficient life. i’ve always looked on in wonder at people who do that. I think it must take some commitment when it’s so much easier to just pop down to the supermarket.

    i also wish georgia was a bit more like george when it comes to puddles!

    have a great week and thanks for making mine 🙂 xox

    • Glad to make your week, girls! You’re my blogging buddies and fully deserve to be on that list. I know someone else gave you the same award last week, but I had to mention you. As you say, your problem is that you’re too popular 😀
      As for our lifestyle, you’re right, it does take a lot of effort at times, but we find it very rewarding. It’s not only about knowing where everything comes from and the better taste of home-made food, it’s also about educating our child. That’s how I see it.

      I take it that Georgia is a bit like Brianna, then, and enjoys a good splash on a rainy day! That’s not such a bad thing, is it? And don’t you worry, George has other ways of bringing muck into the house 🙂

      P.S. Don’t worry about popping in late. We’re all struggling with the lack of time, I think it’s a modern age disease…I wish you a wonderful and easy-paced week.

  10. George The Lad

    Thanks for passing it on to me, I am honoured.
    Number 5 I’m the same, I fell in our garden pond at 11 weeks old thought I was a goner!
    See Yea George xxx

    • Oh, no, what a terrible thing to happen to you, George. I bet you gave your humans a good fright that day. I don’t blame you that you don’t want to go anywhere that cold and wet stuff ever again! Glad you liked the award, though 🙂
      See you around, buddy. x

  11. Thanks for sharing the award! I figured you’d had other whippets before George. I have a feeling he won’t be the last!

    • You’re more than welcome, Carrie!
      No, we’ve always liked the way sighthounds look, but our family circumstances did not allow for getting a dog until about 3 years ago. Then everything changed and we decided to go for it, especially since it was the perfect age for Brianna, too. We researched all the breeds we liked looking for the ones that are great with kids and would make good family dogs, so we decided it had to be a whippet. That’s how George came into our life and, I have to agree with you, I don’t think he’ll be our last whippet. Time will tell 🙂

Leave a Reply

