A Special Pet

Yesterday night, after Brianna and George went to bed exhausted by a day of fun and games, I returned to the computer to check my messages. There wasn’t much in my inbox that was worth sharing with the world, apart from a little video that one of my friends found on YouTube and send to me thinking that I might like it. Well, she was wrong, I didn’t like it. I loved it!

Although it does not employ any special effects or fancy filming techniques, this short footage is heart-moving and the perfect follow-up to yesterday’s post. It concentrates on a ‘special-needs’ dog and is a wonderful example of unconditional love between a human and their pet.

There are many ways in which this video moves me. First it is the fact that the poor dog is blind. We already know that life is not fair and nobody – human or animal – should have to live with a disability like that. But there is more. There is the act of taking on such a dog in the first place. Is it courage? Is it pity? Is the woman crazy for giving it a chance?

I personally don’t know many people who would consider bringing a disabled pet into their family. OK, we’ve already talked about imperfections and we all agreed that they don’t matter and we love our pets the way they are. But this is different. With a dog like this you have to adapt your life to their needs. Would we be willing to do that? Accidents can happen to our pets at any time and we could find ourselves in this situation. I think we’re all prepared to deal with it if we had to. But would we take this burden upon ourselves knowing that there’s a problem?

And then there’s the dog’s appetite for life which brings tears to my eyes. Good tears. I don’t recall having seen such a happy dog very often. Not only is he oblivious of his affliction, but he’s got an adventurous nature and likes to explore the outdoors. He’s learnt how to overcome the darkness and make use of his other assets. With too many of us unable to deal with their own or other people’s physical disabilities, this little dog teaches us a lesson of acceptance and strength. A lesson about how to enjoy life the way you are, the best you can.

I can’t think of a more positive message and a better start to my week!

4 Comments

Filed under General

4 responses to “A Special Pet

  1. what a great story. both the dog and the lady are so accepting of the situation. more than that, they’re very at ease with it 🙂 lovely to see.

    you’re right, that is one happy little dog. i wonder what happens when the bushes and grass get trimmed or cut back!

    p.s. on a completely unrelated subject, i found a couple of sites that talked about garlic. i lost one of them, but the other is at the bottom of my new post. little quantities appear to be No Worries!

    • I’m glad you liked the story. I haven’t thought about what happens when the bushes and grass are cut…Maybe they only cut little bits at the time?!
      Thanks for researching garlic, I’m off to read your post and check out the link. Thanks!

  2. I think it depends on the disability. Our first Greyhound had epilepsy and I wouldn’t hesitate to adopt another with epilepsy if we clicked. For me, there has to be that spark there, though. I can’t just go with a dog from a picture. I know some people can, but I’m not one of them! It really is a wonderful story!

    • I completely agree, we can’t choose a dog from a picture, just like we can’t choose our partner from a photo. There must be a connection, and I think when you meet a dog you know right away if it’s the right one for you. When we went to pick George up we didn’t know which one we’d end up with. All the puppies were still together and we decided to let the dog choose us. George was the one who came to us straight away and really connected with Brianna, so he had to be ours. He happened to be our favourite from the photos, but that was just a coincidence. We would have been happy to bring any other puppy home if we felt it was the one for us.
      I’m really glad you liked the story.

Leave a Reply

