Whilst Walking the Dog

Whilst walking George through the forest last Sunday, I realised how lucky I was to have him. Not only because of the love and fun he’s brought to our life, I’ve already mentioned that. But because he drags me out of the house and away from my daily routine every day. Twice a day, actually.

 I admit, I’ve been known to moan about it at times, especially when it’s raining heavily or I have a stringent deadline and a million of other, ‘better’ things to do than mooch around ‘wasting time’.

But on Sunday it suddenly dawned on me how lucky I was to ‘have to’ do that. I had a breakthrough realisation that without my dog I would not know what our forest looks like, would not know that spring is on its way, would not get enough exercise and definitely would not have time to think.

Daily life is a whirlwind and a constant balancing act for most people. They get up early in the morning and busy around performing daily tasks until nightfall. Then they sit down but are too tired to think. So they watch something meaningless on TV and go to bed.

I’m no different to them. Except for the two walks I take with George every day. It is then that I leave all worries behind, empty my mind off all the petty things and relax. It is whilst walking the dog that I smell the grass, look at the trees, listen to the birds and think. This is my thinking time. My time to reflect on the world and my place in it, on what I’m aiming for in life, on who I want to become and what I want to achieve. My time to chew over the events that take place every day and try to understand them. My time to reassess, adjust or redefine my philosophy.

For this reason, I’ve added a new category to my blog. This is just the first, introductory post, by way of an explanation. This is where I’ll be sharing my deeper, more serious thoughts about the world. This is my place for introspection and analysis, an outlet for my philosophy and a window into my mind. And I could not think of a better place for this category than on George’s blog. After all, he is the provider of my daily thinking time. 

             https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

10 Comments

Filed under Whilst walking the dog

10 responses to “Whilst Walking the Dog

  1. Ahhhh…dog walks in the rain and mud. At 5.30. On weekends. When the rest of the world is snug in bed. You have to love them! I look forward to reading your reflections.

    P.S. I thought that maybe George was a chihuahua when I saw the name of your blog. But I see he’s a whippet! I don’t see a Baaaa…aaa button anywhere, but I’ll be adding you to my reading list right after this 🙂

    • Yeah, you’re definitely one of mine! 😀 Love the rain, mud, snow and generally a bit of hardship at the crack of dawn, especially at the weekends. Anything for his highness the dog.
      Sometimes George himself thinks he’s a chihuahua and tries to snuggle as tightly as he can on my lap. A bit difficult and a bit heavy, but quite nice. At least he’s not a greyhound.
      Thanks for adding me to your reading list. Your on mine, too, since we seem to be on the same wavelength and I love your sense of humour. 😉

  2. I totally agree with you on all counts – time has been short for me in the evenings this week due to various commitments with my teenagers. But although not having a dog (a much wanted animal for the household) I have made sure I’ve gone for a walk a couple of times this week – I love walking. Yes it’s me time whether the ipod is playing or just taking in the surroundings as I walk, it boosts your spirits when you return home.

    • You’ve just summed it up beautifully, Catriona. Nothing beats a little walk and I think it’s great you make the time to go out and clear your mind. I don’t know many people who do that unless they have a dog . To be honest, I know a lot of people who don’t do that although they do have a dog.

      • Oh yes so do I!!
        My son walks dogs most days of the week as he works part time at a kennel. His favourite breed are spaniels, lively dogs but make great gun dogs or house dogs when trained properly – as long as they have plenty of exercise.

      • Lucky boy to be surrounded by dogs all the time! I like spaniels, our neighbour’s daughter has a young one, and he’s a handful. They’re nice though and, in the right hands, make really nice dogs.

  3. I never thought of walking a dog like the way you described. “…he drags me out of the house and away from my daily routine every day.” That’s really cool. I don’t have a dog, but I take my two kids on walks all the time. Half of my brain is making sure they don’t run away or get run over, but the other half is SO happy to be out doing something different! I’ll have to remember to focus more on that second half, like you suggested. Thanks for the thought!

    • Hi, Melissa, and thanks for the nice comment.
      Kids are great in so many ways and, yes, they too drag you out whether you like it or not. As long as we get to “be out doing something different”, as you say, it doesn’t matter who or what makes you do it in the first place. We’ve always been keen walkers, long before we had our daughter or George. Ever since Brianna was a baby, we ‘dragged’ her up mountains and took her camping. As she got bigger and could walk for miles, a dog seemed the natural addition to our family. This is how we ended up with George 🙂
      I’m happy that I was able to inspire you a little bit. You’ve inspired me a lot already (see the comments I left on your ‘broken’ post).

  4. Great post! I am a big dog lover seeing that I have 4 … who wake me very early each morning. It used to be 4 am but something gets them going earlier lately …
    Debbie 🙂

    • Hi, Debbie, and thanks for the comment. Looks like things have settled down a bit after the big FP day 🙂 I had a look on your blog and liked the post-FP post, very nice. I haven’t seen any photos of your dogs, but maybe I didn’t look well enough. I’ll have to go back and search some more.
      4 am is a bit early, I have to admit, at least for a walk. I’m used to George waking me up in the night to go to the toilet, though. Luckily, he goes straight back to bed after that and doesn’t move until 7.

Leave a Reply

