Sunday Mooch in the Ancient Forest

Yesterday’s warmer weather allowed us to go for a nice, long walk in the deep forest at the end of our street. We hadn’t been in there for a while, so we all enjoyed mooching around looking for any scars that the long winter and recent winds might have left on the face of our old friend. A few trees seem to have succumbed to the elements since the late autumn, but our favourite ones are still standing proud.

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

The forest is still bare and desolate-looking, waiting patiently for its lavish glory to be restored in the spring. 

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

However, the buds timidly forming on the branches and the odd bluebell poking through the dead leaves filled the air with optimism and let us know that those days are not too far away.

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

It was hard to take any decent photos of George on this particular occasion, because he was buzzing with excitement and hardly lifted his nose off the ground. He must have missed the forest so much and been so overwhelmed by its smells that he went into super-sniffing mode and hardly noticed me and my annoying camera. So these two shots will have to do. For now.

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

https://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

10 Comments

Filed under Photo diary

10 responses to “Sunday Mooch in the Ancient Forest

  1. Your pix make me want to play a game of “where are you?” Most of the rest of the country is covered in snow. Could you be somewhere in the Pacific Northwest?

    Thanks for showing signs of spring. It will be quite a while before I see any buds in NY.

    BTW, George looks very handsome against the color of the leaves.

    • Hi, Pamela, and thank you for the comment. We’re in the UK, not the first country to get the warmer weather, but from what you’re saying it looks like we’re doing better than the US. I’ll post some proper spring shots in a couple of weeks’ time when there’s more green about.
      Funny thing about George’s colour is that, at this time of the year, he is completely camouflaged and we have to keep a good eye on him to make sure we don’t loose him (not that he’d ever go very far from us, anyway). 🙂

  2. Where’s George? He’s such a good-looking dog! But don’t tell him — you know boy doggies and their egos…

    Thanks for visiting my site, and for your kind comments! 🙂

    Woofs & hugs,

    ~Bailey

    • Oh, yes, I know boy doggies too well 😉 Everybody around here loves George (maybe because he’s the only whippet in our area) so he thinks he’s a little prince anyway.
      Thanks for the nice comment. 🙂

  3. lifewith4cats

    George has nice eyes. Just a comment to welcome a fellow animal lover. You should get that first George drawing your daughter did turned into a ceramic tile. It would make a nice keepsake.

    • Thank you for your nice comment and warm welcome. Your idea about turning the drawing into a keepsake is brilliant, thanks, I might just do that. We normally hang her pictures all over the house, but a ceramic tile would definitely be something special.
      Also thank you for the comment about George. I thought the same about your cats when I looked at your blog. I think there’s something special about animals and the way they use their eyes to communicate with us and each other.

  4. Goodness you manage to write again so quickly! Lovely pictures and great to see signs of spring just poking their heads above the surface 🙂

    Not had a chance to write here yet as homework with youngest has taken precedence this evening.

    Catriona

    • Hi, Catriona. I was actually quite unhappy with myself yesterday because I didn’t post anything, so thanks for the reassurance. I know what it’s like being busy with the kids, homework, home, etc. This is why I’ll most likely be posting once every 2 days rather than on a daily basis. I have a lot of ideas buzzing in my head all the time, but it’s hard finding the time to write them down. It’s worth persevering though, I’m urging you not to give up either. I really am looking forward to your next post. Write something about your chickens, I bet they’re real characters 🙂

      • Hi Didi,
        I have, I sat up till gone midnight – I was inspired by your post! 🙂 I can understand the unhappiness as writing a blog is becoming an addiction but a positive one. Thanks – keep going 🙂

  5. Pingback: Whilst Walking the Dog | my little dog

Leave a Reply

