Portraits of a Dog

Whilst browsing through my piles of doggy pictures, I came across a few sketch drawings by my 7-year-old daughter. They are “portraits of George” – as she called them – made a few months ago whilst having a day off school due to a bad cold.

These drawings may not be masterpieces, but they reflect the special relationship between my child and my dog. While looking at them, try to imagine a little girl, poorly in bed one morning with nothing but her dog, a pack of crayons and a sketch pad to keep her company and make her feel better. These drawings are the result of that special morning.

        mylittledog         

        mylittledog

        mylittledog

5 Comments

Filed under General

5 responses to “Portraits of a Dog

  1. These are absolutly adorable!! What wonderful little portraits! 🙂

  2. Animals seem to have special powers to make somebody feel better. Lovely drawings from your daughter.

    • Thank you for your comment, Kitty. I agree, there seems to be a lot of evidence that animals have healing powers. It might have something to do with their infinite love and devotion, I don’t know. But I know our dog has always sensed when one of us is ill or sad and has always made us feel better just by laying next to us, with his head on our knee.

      • Yes I totally agree. Our old cat used to come and sit on my lap when I went through a rough patch in my life. Other than that he was not a cat that sat on you at all. Paddy our current cat hasn’t developed this yet but he is still quite young . . .
        I used to work with infant children and took some lambs into school one day. Those children who found school difficult were totally inspired by the lambs and became quite vocal and animated! A lovely and quite a moving sight to experience with those kids.

Leave a Reply

