His Majesty, Prince George

On Friday, when we went away for the weekend, we had a lot of nice activities planned to fill our time, and I was hoping for a good post as a result. But it just wasn’t meant to be. The weather was not on our side, and we were forced to stay indoors pretty much all of the time due to heavy downpours of rain.

No need to feel sorry for us, though, it wasn’t that bad. Instead of the triathlon training we usually put ourselves and the kids through, we had lunch sleeps! I hadn’t had a lunch sleep for many years, not for  lack of want, but for lack of time.

And boy, it felt wonderful…A nap on our comfy sofa, with the sound of a summer thunderstorm in the background… To me, that’s magic. I know some people don’t like thunder, lightning and storms in general, but I love them. I find nature’s displays of power irresistible. I guess I’m one of those crazy people who would follow a tornado, if given the chance.

So, not much to write about, I’m afraid. Obviously, I don’t have any photos of us sleeping, and I wouldn’t post any even if I did. What I do have is a photo of George enjoying his afternoon siesta in extra comfort.

http://mylittledog.wordpress.com/

Apparently, whilst the adults were snoozing, he’s managed to convince Brianna to bring his duvet from our bedroom and place it on the sofa, then add his blanket on top! I don’t know how long His Majesty had been sitting there, but I woke up under his piercing gaze, watching me from his new throne. I swear this dog could rule the world (if he wasn’t so lazy).

28 Comments

Filed under Photo diary

28 responses to “His Majesty, Prince George

  1. Hysterical. He definitely is playing the part of His Majesty; love his ears and eyes. He almost has this look as if to say, “You aren’t going to make me move, are you?” But then he seems to realize that he does rule and will be able to maintain his pose. Wonderful story and glad you got some time to relax. Sounds heavenly for all.

    • You’re right, he’s got nothing to worry about, he does rule. As long as he doesn’t turn into a cheeky tyrant, he can get away with pretty much everything, including taking over the furniture.
      We don’t get enough relaxation time, so yes, it was heavenly…Bring on the next rainy weekend ;)

  2. the more blankets and pillows the better.. I must admit I do this for Luna too sometimes. Which is why i will lay a blanket down on top of the carpet for Luna, when she is not allowed on the family’s couches… The things we do for our pups.
    I am not a nap taker overall, usually I feel worse after I nap. I need my own nap assistant who would start the timer when I actually fell asleep so that I did not sleep too long.
    I enjoy thunder and lightening too, an entire reason to have a metal roof one day.
    Sounds like you enjoyed your weekend despite the weather
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

    • I thought Luna’s a little princess, she definitely looks like one :) Sometimes I wonder if our dogs’ preference for a lot of blankets, duvets and other soft, cosy bedding has anything to do with their lack of hair?! All the very hairy dogs I know (e.g. a Shitzu, a German Shepherd, a Husky) never try to go on the furniture and show no interest in cuddly things.
      Anyway…I hope you get your metal roof one day. ;)

  3. Wonderful picture! Now George just needs to perfect the Royal Wave.

  4. Oscar would love to be George’s court jester or official food taster. ;)

  5. Without doubt George is royalty. Why anything less than a duvet under his blankie would be unaccepatabe for such a classy actor. :)

  6. I love that George and his blankie are colour co-ordinated:) He certainly does look regal on his throne, like he already rules the world.

    I don’t mind storms as long as I’m not out in them:) The best way for me to have a nap is to watch TV, that usually puts me straight to sleep … sitting up!

    I hope the weather co-operates the next time you go away!

    • Oh, there’s a lot of colour coordination going on in our house: carpet, blankets, etc. As my husband says, “It’s all about George, isn’t it?”

      So you’re a TV snoozer, too? I often fall asleep in front of the TV, usually if I’m watching whilst I’m lying down and I find the programme boring.

  7. lifewith4cats

    George perfecting the royal wave. HAHAH

    I love waking up from a nap to find an animal silently watching over me. Its such a loving gesture. (like looking in on sleeping children, it is) Doesnt it make you wonder what he must have been thinking about? I think they must be memorizing our features in minute detail and counting our breaths.

    • I agree, there’s something loving and sweet about waking up to find your pet lying nearby, watching over you. It’s like you can feel their love and devotion…
      I don’t think he was thinking of anything, to be honest. I think he was content to just lie there, all comfortable and happy. He’s always happy when we’re all together, especially if we’re not doing anything (like staring at the computer screen) and are just lazing around, being dogs. Then he can hop around from one lap to another :)

  8. I love monsoon season in Singapore. Mind you, torrential rainfall can wreck quite a bit of havoc in the city. Nevertheless, I thoroughly enjoy it because it’s the only time I can get some respite from the heat! George looks like he doesn’t mind the occasional heavy downpour either. He certainly has a very statuesque pose for a four-legger who just arose from an afternoon nap :D

    • I can’t stand heat myself, so I can imagine what a relief rain can be in your part of the world. No, George doesn’t mind a good downpoor as long as he doesn’t have to go for a walk in it :)

  9. I’m all for lunch sleeps! It’s good to enjoy them when you can, and there’s no better time to nap than during a rain shower. Is George affected at all by thunder? Xander is a nervous wreck during storms, but Zoe and Roxie don’t mind them. Xander has mellowed a little with age though, thankfully! By the way, if George wants to rule the world, I’ll gladly follow. :)

    • No, we’re lucky, George doesn’t mind thunder (or fireworks) at all. My mother-in-law’s Yorkie was bad with storms, he used to hide under a chair and shake and whimper all the way through. I felt so sorry for him…But that dog was traumatised as a puppy somehow. I wonder what makes Xander fear storms, maybe he’s got sensitive ears and doesn’t like the sound?
      I’d follow him, too, I think his world would be a better place than it is now ;)

  10. i know that look. Prince George wants his dinner/walkies/tummy tickle/human servants’ attention. the temerity of the lazy humans to be all asleep!

    i love thunderstorms too, and the sound of rain on a tin roof. though i’d probably draw the line at chasing tornadoes. i like it better when i know my house isn’t leaking anywhere.

    have a great weekend :) xox

  11. Sam

    Sometimes lazy weekends are the best!

    Sam

  12. Kas

    :) George sure does rule the roost!

  13. I love this! Gus loves to be perched on the sofa, too. We call him “King Gus”. Prince George is such a lovely name. :)

Leave a Reply

